Wednesday, October 23, 2019

Posted at: Dec 6, 2018, 12:06 AM; last updated: Dec 6, 2018, 12:06 AM (IST)

MC poll: 37 file papers in Karnal

Parveen Arora
Tribune News Service
Karnal, December 5

On the second-to-last day of filing nomination papers for the Karnal Municipal Corporation elections scheduled for December 16, the Mini-Secretariat was abuzz with activity. Six candidates, including one of the BJP, filed their papers for the Mayor’s post with pomp and show.

As many as 37 candidates have filed their nomination for councillor seats with various Assistant Returning Officers.

Former Mayor and BJP candidate for the mayoral post Renu Bala Gupta submitted her nomination papers to Sushil Malik, ZA marketing board, in the presence of Union Minister Krishan Pal Gurjar, Minister of State for Mining Nayab Saini, Minister of State for Food and Supplies Karandev Kamboj, Gharaunda MLA Harvinder Kalyan, Assandh MLA Bakhshish Singh Virk, Nilokheri MLA Bhagwan Das Kabirpanthi and other party office-bearers. Shikha Gupta filed her nomination as Renu’s covering candidate.

“I am confident about my win as the whole party cadre and the residents of the city are with me. I am seeking their vote on the development works done by the BJP government led by Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar,” said Renu Bala Gupta.

Gurjar also told the party cadre to ensure massive victory for Renu. “We will win all the five mayoral seats in Haryana,” he claimed.

Renu Gupta took out a procession from Railway Road and she was welcomed by traders and residents at several places.

Independent candidate Asha Wadhwa, wife of former Deputy Mayor Manoj Wadhwa, also filed her nomination for the Mayor’s post.

The INLD-BSP alliance is supporting Wadhwa. She also came in a procession from Sector 12 with her supporters. “We will definitely win as the residents of Karnal along with leaders and workers of the INLD, BSP, Congress and BJP are supporting me,” said Asha. “I will ensure overall development of the city after becoming Mayor,” she said.

Kurukshetra MP Raj Kumar Saini’s Loktantra Suraksha Party-supported candidate Komal Chandel also filed her nomination as an Independent. Tulsi and Sudesh also filed their nominations as Independent candidates.

Ministers in tow 

BJP candidate Renu Bala Gupta submitted her papers in the presence of Union Minister Krishan Pal Gurjar, Ministers of State Nayab Saini and Karandev Kamboj and MLAs Harvinder Kalyan, Bakhshish Singh Virk and Bhagwan Das Kabirpanthi.


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On