51 file papers for Himachal's 4 LS seats, 33 for byelections : The Tribune India

Join Whatsapp Channel

51 file papers for Himachal's 4 LS seats, 33 for byelections

51 file papers for Himachal's 4 LS seats, 33 for  byelections

Sudhir Sharma

Tribune News Service

Shimla, May 14

As many as 51 persons have filed their nomination papers for the Lok Sabha elections and 33 for the six Assembly byelections to be held on June 1.

A total of 27 nominations were filed for the four Lok Sabha and six Assembly seats on the last day for filing of nominations today. Three candidates filed their papers from the Hamirpur parliamentary constituency, seven from Mandi, six from Kangra and one from the Shimla Lok Sabha seat. Besides, 10 candidates filed their papers for the six Assembly byelections.

Davinder Jaggi

Five women candidates (one each from Kangra, Hamirpur and Shimla and two from Mandi) have filed nominations for the Lok Sabha elections. Besides, three women candidates (one each from Lahaul-Spiti, Sujanpur and Gagret) have filed their papers for the six Assembly byelections. Kangana Ranaut from the Mandi parliamentary seat and Anuradha Rana from the Lahaul-Spiti Assembly seat are the prominent women candidates in the electoral fray. A single-phase polling will take place in Himachal on June 1 while the counting of votes will be taken up on June 4.

About The Author

The Tribune News Service brings you the latest news, analysis and insights from the region, India and around the world. Follow the Tribune News Service for a wide-ranging coverage of events as they unfold, with perspective and clarity.

#Lok Sabha #Shimla

Top News

6 more die of suspected heat stroke as mercury soars to 49 degrees Celsius in Rajasthan

Met issues 'red' warning for Punjab, Haryana, Chandigarh; Phalodi in Rajasthan sizzles at 49 degrees Celsius

The extreme heat will continue in parts of Delhi, Rajasthan,...

Pune car crash: Juvenile's father, 5 others sent in judicial custody

Attempt made to show teen was not driving Porsche, says Pune top cop, admits to probe lapses

2 police officials suspended for lapses committed during the...

Court convicts activist Medha Patkar in defamation case filed by Delhi L-G VK Saxena

23 years after Delhi L-G VK Saxena’s complaint, activist Medha Patkar convicted in defamation case

Delhi Metropolitan Magistrate Raghav Sharma posts the matter...

Sunrisers Hyderabad post 175-9 against Rajasthan Royals in IPL Qualifier 2

IPL 2024: Royal 'harakiri' puts Sunrisers Hyderabad in IPL final, to face KKR

Apart from Boult (3/45) and Avesh Khan (3/27), Sandeep Sharm...


View All