Friday, April 19, 2019

Posted at: Aug 15, 2016, 1:52 AM; last updated: Aug 15, 2016, 1:52 AM (IST)

Arpit Shukla to get President’s Police Medal

Several other city policemen also to be honoured on the 70th Independence Day

Tribune News Service

Jalandhar, August 14

Commissioner of Police, Jalandhar, Arpit Shukla, has been awarded the President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Services in his department.

Shukla gets the honour for taking several initiatives in the department while serving as the IGP, Jalandhar, and city Police Commissioner.

Due to Shukla’s initiative of managing the passport verification services, the Jalandhar police was recently adjudged the best in the country for cent per cent passport verification.

Other cops to be honoured on the Independence Day in Jalandhar include assistant sub-inspector Mohan Singh, deployed with the CIA. He would be honoured as he had saved two persons, including a woman and her son, from being electrocuted with his turban at Sri Devi Talab Temple on June 11 this year.

Mohan had untied his turban and pulled the duo from the electricity pole where they faced the risk of electrocution. Mohan was also earlier honoured by the DGP, Punjab Police, Suresh Arora, and Police Commissioner Arpit Shukla for his bravery.

ASI Jagdev Singh will be honoured as he had bravely fought gangsters during a shootout on July 6 last year. He had also sustained a bullet injury in his abdomen. Jagdev, along with a police party, had raided the house in the Basti Sheikh locality to nab dreaded gangsters Sukhwinder Singh Bhau, Sukhi Bidipuria and Faetehjeet Singh.

Another cop who will be honoured is ASI Sukhdev Singh for donating his blood and saving the life of a woman who had sustained serious injuries in a road accident.

Inspector Inderjit Singh, chief of CIA 2, will be honoured for nabbing 13 gangsters along with weapons.

Woman officer Sukandya Devi will be honoured for recovering stolen motorcycles and valuables.

For the “Vahan” initiative and recovering stolen vehicles, ASIs Ranjeet Singh and Guljar Singh will get honours.

For spreading traffic rules awareness in schools and colleges, ASI Rajinder Singh will be hounoured.

From the Vigilance Department, cops who will receive honour are inspectors Major Singh, Dalbir Singh, Mandeep Singh, inspector Sukhwinder Singh, sub-inspector Prem Dass, ASIs Sukhchain, Jagiri Lal, HCs Mohinder Partap, Basant Kumar, PHC Param Mann, senior assistant Ninna Rani, steno Sukhwinder and junior assistant Mandeep for all-round performance in the field.


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On