Thursday, October 17, 2019

Posted at: May 25, 2019, 8:09 AM; last updated: May 25, 2019, 8:09 AM (IST)

Shahkot plays key role in Cong win

Aparna Banerji
Tribune News Service
Jalandhar, May 24

While 57,853 votes in the Shahkot Assembly segment for the Congress remained pivotal in sealing its victory on the Jalandhar Lok Sabha seat, in many Assembly constituencies a close contest among the Congress, Akali Dal and BSP was witnessed.

For the BSP candidate Balwinder Kumar, the most decisive lead was in Adampur while the party trailed in Shahkot and Jalandhar West.

While Chaudhary won the Jalandhar seat with a margin of 19,491 votes, getting 3,85,712 votes in all, SAD candidate Charanjit Singh Atwal got 3,66,221 and BSP candidate Balwinder Kumar got 2,04,783 votes.

Even as the Congress maintained a lead in Shahkot, Jalandhar West, Jalandhar Cantt and Phillaur, SAD candidate Charnait Singh Atwal led in Nakodar, Jalandhar Central and Jalandhar North Assembly constituencies. BSP candidate Balwinder led in Adampur.

The closest contest among the three parties was observed in Phillaur where Congress merely scarped through the victory margin, getting 45,001 votes and saving the face, SAD getting 35,818 and BSP 43,916 votes.

In Jalandhar Cantt, Congress got 41,820 votes, SAD came close with 39,398 and BSP got 23,041 votes.

AAP lags behind

AAP candidate Justice Jora Singh lost his deposit from Jalandhar, getting a total of 25,476 votes.

The candidate’s votes weren’t even a fourth of what the party got in 2014.

AAP vote share came down from 25 per cent in 2014 to a meagre 2.5 per cent this year. 

Rather than a contest with other major parties (like in 2014), the AAP seemed to have its contest with NOTA this year. 

As many as 12,324 people pressed the NOTA option in Jalandhar this year. At Kartarpur, AAP received as little as 1,903 votes. The party did not cross the 4,000 margin in any of the Assembly constituencies in Jalandhar. 

The highest number of votes it got in an Assembly segment was 4,016 in Shahkot. While AAP candidate Justice Jora Singh left Jalandhar on May 19 after voting, the new party office he opened in Jalandhar as well as AAP’s previous offices wore a deserted look now. 

While the AAP camped outside the counting centres until the counting day in previous elections, this time, Justice Jora Singh did not even visit the counting centre, nor were any of its workers deputed there.


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On