Wednesday, February 20, 2019
  • Pakistani inmate allegedly murdered in Jaipur Central Jail: IGP Prisons.
Jammu Kashmir » Education

Posted at: Nov 30, 2014, 11:25 PM; last updated: Nov 30, 2014, 11:12 PM (IST)

Kolkata varsity wins Indian national rounds of moot event

Kolkata varsity wins Indian national rounds of moot event
State Information Commissioner SK Sharma along with Seema Sharma, director of Law School, University of Jammu, gives away the prize to the winning team in Jammu on Sunday. Tribune Photo: Inderjeet Singh

Tribune News Service

Jammu, November 30

The West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences, Kolkata, bagged the first position in the Indian national rounds of Surana and Surana 19th Stetson International Environmental Moot Competition that concluded at Jammu University today.

The top four teams of the event will participate in the international round finals to be held at the Stetson College of Law Florida in the United States of America (USA) in March next year.

This time, the Stetson has agreed to allow the host institution, University of Jammu, to be part of the finals in Florida and the Law School of University of Jammu will join other four teams to participate in the international round finals.

The Indian national round was inaugurated on November 28 by Vice-Chancellor RD Sharma in Jammu. On Saturday, all 28 participating teams started the first round and 14 teams headed into the second round.

The Surana and Surana moots is among the oldest, largest and prestigious moot court projects in Jammu since mid 1990s and every year, hundreds of moot competition are held across India. The aim of this competition is to provide a platform to budding advocates and develop skills in oral and written advocacy as well as legal research.

The Stetson moor court competition covers issues in international environment law. Leading law schools and law universities of India participated in the event which witnessed a record participation of 28 teams of best law schools of India.

State Information Commissioner SK Sharma, who was the chief guest at the valedictory function, awarded prizes to winning team, runners-up and others.

The West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences Kolkata (WBNUJSK) bagged the first position while Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law, Punjab, was adjudged second. Other two teams who will participate in the international round are National Law University, Jodhpur, and NALSAR University of Law, Hyderabad, who remained at the third and fourth position.

Sanchit Shiva Kumar, WBNUJS, was adjudged the best speaker. Gujarat National Law University was awarded best memorial where as Sagnik Das of National Law University, Jodhpur, was given the best student advocate award.


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On