Friday, August 17, 2018

google plus

Posted at: Feb 15, 2018, 1:40 AM; last updated: Feb 15, 2018, 1:40 AM (IST)

PAU athletics meet: Mehakpreet, Sehajdeep adjudged best athletes

PAU athletics meet: Mehakpreet, Sehajdeep adjudged best athletes
A race under way during the 52nd Annual Athletics Meet of PAU in Ludhiana. Ashwani Dhiman

Our Sports Correspondent

Ludhiana, February 14

Mehakpreet Kaur Randhawa and Sehajdeep Singh Sran, both students of the College of Agriculture (COA), were adjudged the best athletes among women and men, respectively, in the 52nd Annual Athletics Meet of the Punjab Agricultural University held here today.

Besides, students of the COA proved their mettle and lifted the overall trophy, while the College of Home Science (CHS) was declared the best contingent in the march past. Ajay Kumar and Manveer Singh, students of COA, were named the best cyclist and the best hockey player, respectively.

Harmandeep Singh of College of Basic Sciences and Humanities (COBS&H) emerged the second best athlete in the men’s section, whereas Jobanjeet Singh of COA finished as the third best athlete.

Likewise, in the women’s section, Ravinder Kaur (COA) and Sukhpreet Kaur (COHS) were declared the second and third best athletes, respectively.

Dr Manjeet Singh Chinnan, Professor, Emeritus, University of Georgia (USA) and the PAU alumnus, was the chief guest. He lauded PAU students for accomplishment in sports and co-curricular activities.

Dr Ravinder Kaur Dhaliwal, Director Students’ Welfare, PAU, thanked the guests. She told the students about the importance of sports which stimulate and channelise their energies. She read out the annual sports report highlighting the achievements by the university students at national and international tournaments.

Dr SS Kukal, Dean, Post Graduate Studies and Dean, College of Agriculture proposed vote of thanks.



  • 400-metre hurdles-1st Pardeep Singh (COA), 2nd Manroop Singh (COA) and 3rd Gurdeep Singh (COA).
  • 400-metre race-1st Manveer Singh (COA), 2nd Gurdeep Singh (COA) and 3rd Pardeep Singh (COA).
  • 100-metre race-1st Sehajdeep Singh (COA), 2nd Manveer Singh (COA) and 3rd Gurdeep Singh (COA).
  • 1,500-metre race-1st Jobanjeet Singh, 2nd Ravinder Pal Singh (COA) and 3rd Lovepreet Singh (COA).
  • 4x100-metre relay-1st COA, 2nd COBS&H and 3rd COAE&T.
  • 4x400 m relay-1st COA, 2nd COAE&T and 3rd COBS&H.
  • 800 meter race- 1st Pardeep Singh (COA), 2nd Lovepreet Singh (COA) and 3rd Jobanjeet Singh (COA).
  • 200-metre race-1st Sehajdeep Singh Sran (COA), 2nd Manveer Singh (COA) and 3rd Gurdeep Singh (COA).
  • Shot put-1st Harmandeep Singh (COBS&H), 2nd Jagdish Singh (COA) and 3rd Hamidullah (COA).
  • Discus throw-1st Harmandeep Singh (COBS&H), 2nd Harshbab Singh (COA) and 3rd Sutej Singh Bains (COA).
  • Broad jump-1st Sahejdeep Singh Sran (COA), 2nd Sachin Warval (COA) and Ankush Kumar (COA).

  • 800-metre race-1st Mehakpreet Kaur Randhawa (COA), 2nd Ravinder Kaur (COA) and 3rd Sandeep Kaur (COA).
  • Broad jump-1st Sukhpreet Kaur (COHS), 2nd Pallavi Saini (COA) and 3rd Gunjan (COHS).
  • Shot put-1st Sumanjot Kaur (COA), 2nd Sukhjinder Kaur (COHS) and 3rd Saloni (COHS).
  • 100-metre race-1st Mehakpreet Kaur Randhawa (COA), 2nd Sikita Soni (COHS) and 3rd Ravinder Kaur (COA).
  • 400-metre race-1st Mehakpreet Kaur Randhawa (COA), 2nd Ravinder Kaur (COA) and 3rd Agamjot Billing (COA).
  • 200-metre race-1st Mehakpreet Kaur Randhawa (COA), 2nd Sukhpreet Kaur (COHS) and 3rd Ravinder Kaur (COA).
  • Discus throw-1st Sukhanjot Kaur (COAE&T), 2nd Arpana (COHS) and 3rd Sukhjinder Kaur (COHS).
  • 4x100-metre relay- 1st COA, 2nd COHS and 3rd COBS&H.


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On