Prerna, Surinder to clash in women’s final in Ludhiana District Badminton Championship

Prerna, Surinder to clash in women’s final in Ludhiana District Badminton Championship

Players in action during a match of the Ludhiana District Badminton Championship. Ashwani Dhiman

Sports Correspondent

Ludhiana, September 6

Prerna Dawar and Surinder Kaur overpowered their respective opponents to secure berths in the women’s singles final on the third day of the Ludhiana District Badminton Championship being held at Shastri Hall near Guru Nanak Stadium here on Monday.

In the semi-finals, Prerna proved too good for Navya Mahajan whom she outnumbered (21-17, 21-14) while Surinder Kaur got the better of Trisha Mahajan (21-12, 24-12) to enter the final.

Likewise, in the men’s section (semi-finals), Hakam Singh prevailed over Arnam Jain (9-21, 21-19 and 21-11) whereas Vakul Sharma pipped Vishwas Suri (21-10, 21-7) to make it to the title clash.

The highlight of the day was the match in the men’s doubles category, between Mitaksh Gandhi and Lakshay Singal against Anand Tiwari and junior world ranking champion Lakshay Sharma in which the former came out victorious in three sets (21-16, 19-21 and 21-18).

Results (semi-finals)

Women’s singles: Prerna Dawar bt Navya Mahajan (21-17, 21-14) and Surinder Kaur bt Trisha Mahajan (21-12, 24-22).

Men’s singles: Hakam Singh bt Arnam Jain (9-21, 21-19, 21-11) and Vakul Sharma bt Vishwas Suri (21-10, 21-7).

Men’s doubles: Mitaksh Gandhi and Lakshay Singal bt Anand Tiwari and Lakshay Sharma (21-16, 19-21, 21-18); Vakul Sharma and Hakam Singh bt Sannidhya Nautiyal and Vishwas Suri (21-17, 21-17).

Mixed doubles: Vakul Sharma and Arunima Pal bt Harpuneeet and Reet Kwatra (21-17, 21-17); Sannidhya Nautiyal and Saanvi Nautiyal bt Mitaksh Gandhi and Prerna Dawar (21-12, 21-19).

Boys singles (U-17): Krish Chadha bt Akshit Maiyhani (21-19, 21-16) and Tanmay Tomar bt Prabhjot Singh (21-13, 21-13).

Boys doubles (U-17): Akshit Maithani and Milan Malhotra bt Rajveer Singh Yadav and Pratham Sood (21-19, 21-13); Tanmay Tomar and Krish Chadha bt Yogeshwar Narang and Vaibhav Gossain (21-17, 21-15).

Girls singles (U-17): Arunima Pal bt Saanvi Nautiyal (21-16, 21-6) and Tarishi Singla bt Tia Mahajan (21-17, 21-14).

Boys singles (U-13): Madhav bt Kartik Kalra (21-3, 21-5) and Aditya Sharma bt Raghav Bhatia (21-14, 21-14).

Boys’ doubles (U-13): Stavan Jain and Raghav Bhatia bt Shehan and Suryansh (21-8, 21-14); Arnav Negi and Aditya Sharma bt Kartik Kalra and Vansh Gupta (21-15, 21-19).

Girls singles (U-13): Gurleen Kaur bt Upneet Kaur (21-8, 21-12) and Shenaya Chadha bt

Prabhnoor Kaur (14-21, 21-14, 23-21).

Girls’ doubles (U-13): Upneet Kaur and Amelia Bhakoo bt Sanchi Arora and Aadhira (21-8, 21-5).

Tribune Shorts


View All