SAD swaps Ludhiana North seat with BSP

Ludhiana, November 24

Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD-B) has swapped Ludhiana North Assembly seat with its new ally – Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP). The party in turn gave up its claim on the rural seat of Raikot.

Former Deputy Mayor RD Sharma, who recently joined the SAD after bidding adieu to the BJP, has been nominated as the party candidate from the Ludhiana North segment.

The SAD has now taken lead over its rival parties in announcing candidates for all the six urban Assembly seats in the mega city.

Senior SAD leader Maheshinder Singh Grewal will contest from Ludhiana West, while former minister Hira Singh Gabria will be in the fray from Ludhiana South.

Former legislators Ranjit Singh Dhillon and Harish Rai Dhanda have been named as party nominees from Ludhiana East and Atam Nagar, respectively.

The party has also nominated first timers Pritpal Singh Pali and RD Sharma from the Ludhiana Central and Ludhiana North seats, respectively.

Former minister and sitting MLA Sharanjit Singh Dhillon will contest from Sahnewal, while incumbent Manpreet Singh Ayali will try to retain the Dakha Assembly seat.

Darshan Singh Shivalik (Gill), Paramjit Singh Dhillon (Samrala) and Paramjit Kaur (Khanna) will contest from the rural belt of the district. — OC

Tribune Shorts


View All