151 cops to be honoured for excellence in investigation : The Tribune India

151 cops to be honoured for excellence in investigation

Four are from Haryana and one each from Punjab, Himachal, J&K

151 cops to be honoured for excellence in investigation

Tribune News Service

New Delhi, August 12

The Centre today announced names of 151 police personnel for Union Home Minister’s Medal for Excellence in Investigation. Among them, four are from Haryana and one each from Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, and Jammu and Kashmir.

28 among them women

  • Of the total number of police personnel chosen for the award, 28 are women
  • The Union Home Minister's Medal for Excellence in Investigation was constituted in 2018
  • With 15 medals, the CBI is on top of the tally
  • The medal aims to promote high professional standards of investigation of crime and recognise such excellence in probe

From Haryana, Inspector Basant Kumar, Sub Inspectors Suman Devi and Yogesh Kumar, and Head Constable Gopal Chand have been named. Inspector Shaminder Singh of the Punjab Police, Additional Superintendent of Police Narvir Singh of Himachal Pradesh and Deputy Superintendent of Police of J&K have also been chosen for the prestigious award.

Fifteen personnel of the CBI have been awarded medals, followed by 11 from the Maharashtra Police, 10 each from the Madhya Pradesh and Uttar Pradesh Police, and eight each from Kerala, Rajasthan and the West Bengal Police.

Seven police personnel from Bihar, six each from Gujarat, Karnataka and Delhi, and five each from Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, National Investigation Agency and the Narcotics Control Bureau have been selected for the award. Four personnel each from Assam and Odisha have also been chosen.

The CBI officers who probed the Justice SN Shukla corruption case, booked a retired railway official in connection with a Rs 50 lakh bribe case, and arrested Navy officers in a corruption case are among the 15 personnel of the agency chosen for the award. They are Deputy SPs Surender Kumar Rohilla, Pramod Kumar, Sandep Singh Bhadouriya, Manoj Kumar and Kumar Bhaskar; and Inspectors Himanshu Shah, Sabhaji Nivrutti, M Sasirekha, Sridhar D, Satyaveer, Saji Sankar, Deepak Kumar, Anuj Kumar, Amit Awdesh Srivastav and Pradeep Kumar Tripathi.

#jammu #kashmir

Tribune Shorts

Top News

Putin signs documents to incorporate territories of Ukraine into Russian Federation

Putin annexes 15 per cent of Ukraine land; Kyiv seeks NATO entry

Russian President vows to protect newly annexed Donetsk, Luh...

Mallikarjun Kharge emerges as consensus face for Congress presidency; Digvijay to propose his name

Mallikarjun Kharge set to be next Congress chief as Gandhi loyalists, G23 back him; Tharoor his challenger

It is 80-year-old former 9-term MLA and a 3-term MP Kharge v...

Punjab Assembly session: Partap Bajwa demands assurance from CM on action against Fauja Singh Sarari

Amid din over opposition's demand for action against Fauja Singh Sarari, Punjab Assembly passes 3 Bills

There is a heated argument between MLA Sukhpal Khaira and Sp...

Second ‘referendum’ in November to test India-Canada ties

Second 'referendum' on Khalistan in November to test India-Canada ties

After the first referendum, both countries have issued trave...


View All