Tuesday, December 10, 2019

Posted at: Jun 19, 2019, 11:38 AM; last updated: Jun 19, 2019, 1:44 PM (IST)

2-time Rajasthan MP Om Birla unanimously chosen as Lok Sabha Speaker

2-time Rajasthan MP Om Birla unanimously chosen as Lok Sabha Speaker
Om Birla. Tribune file

Tribune News Service
New Delhi, June 19

Rajasthan MP Om Birla was on Wednesday chosen as Speaker of the Lok Sabha.

The motion to choose Birla as the Speaker was moved by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who is also Leader of the House, and passed by a voice vote.

“That Shri Om Birla, a member of the House, be chosen as the Speaker of the this House,” read the motion.

The motion was seconded by Defence Minister Rajnath Singh.

A similar motion was moved by Home Minister and BJP president Amit Shah, which was supported by Union minister Nitin Gadkari.

The Congress and the DMK had moved notices for a similar motion. But the notices were issued after noon on Tuesday, the deadline.

As a special case, pro-tem Speaker Virendra Kumar allowed the motions to be moved.

Birla, who won his first Lok Sabha election in 2014, was again elected this year from Rajasthan’s Kota-Bundi seat. With PTI


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On