Sunday, October 20, 2019

Posted at: May 23, 2019, 6:43 PM; last updated: May 23, 2019, 6:43 PM (IST)

Narendra Modi wins Varanasi by 4.75 lakh votes

Narendra Modi wins Varanasi by 4.75 lakh votes
BJP workers celebrate party’s lead in the Lok Sabha elections, in Varanasi. PTI

Varanasi, May 23

Prime Minister Narendra Modi recorded a spectacular victory in Varanasi, clocking a margin of 4,75,754 votes.

Modi polled a total of 6,69,602 votes while his nearest rival, Shalini Yadav of the Samajwadi Party (SP), got 1,93,848. Ajay Rai of the Congress got 1,51,800 votes.

In 2014, Modi won from Varanasi by a margin of 3.37 lakh votes.

Varanasi has been celebrating the prime minister’s victory since the morning with songs, dance and sweets.

According to sources, Modi will visit Varanasi next week to offer thanks and prayers at the Kashi Vishwanath temple. — IANS


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On