Wednesday, October 23, 2019

Posted at: May 27, 2019, 6:48 AM; last updated: May 27, 2019, 6:48 AM (IST)

Odisha Guv invites Patnaik to form govt for record 5th term

Odisha Guv invites Patnaik to form govt for record 5th term
Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik meets Odisha Governor Ganeshi Lal to stake claim to form the new government in Bhubaneswar. PTI

Bhubaneswar, May 26

Odisha Governor Prof Ganeshi Lal on Sunday invited Naveen Patnaik, who led the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) to emphatic victories in both the Assembly and Lok Sabha polls in Odisha, to form the next government in the state.

Set to be sworn in as the Chief Minister for a record fifth consecutive term in Odisha, Patnaik met the Governor and staked claim to form the government after being elected the leader of the BJD legislature party.

The BJD won 112 of the 146 seats in the recently concluded Assembly poll.

“After being satisfied that the BJD commands majority, the honourable Governor extended invitation to Naveen Patnaik to form the new government,” a Raj Bhavan spokesman said. Earlier, Patnaik was chosen the leader by the newly elected MLAs during a 45-minute meeting at the party headquarters here, BJD sources said.

At the meeting, Patnaik said the new government would work hard to ensure speedy development of the state and welfare of its people. The swearing-in ceremony of Patnaik is scheduled to be held on May 29 at the Exhibition Ground here, sources said.

Overcoming a Modi wave that swept the country, the Patnaik-led BJD has scripted history with a landslide victory to form the government in Odisha for a record fifth term in a row. The BJD won 112 of 146 Assembly seats which went to polls. While the state has 147 Assembly segments, polling in Patkura was postponed twice following the death of a candidate and then due to cyclone Fani.

The BJD also won 12 out of the 21 Lok Sabha seats in the state in the General Election, which was held simultaneously with the Assembly poll. The BJD had secured 117 Assembly seats in the 2014 poll. — PTI


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On