Monday, November 18, 2019

Posted at: Apr 22, 2019, 7:20 AM; last updated: Apr 22, 2019, 8:52 AM (IST)

Phase 3: 116 seats in 14 states and UTs go to poll tomorrow

Phase 3: 116 seats in 14 states and UTs go to poll tomorrow

New Delhi, April 21

Campaigning for the third phase of polling in 116 parliamentary constituencies on April 23 ended on Sunday, with top leaders making a last-gasp effort to sway voters in favour of their parties.

Polling will be held in 116 seats, spread across 14 states and Union Territories.

All seats in Gujarat (26), Kerala (20), Goa (2), Dadra and Nagar Haveli (1) and Daman and Diu (1) go to polls in the third of the seven-phase election. 

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP chief Amit Shah, Congress president Rahul Gandhi and a host of Union ministers canvassed for their party candidates in the past few days, undertaking whirlwind tours. Among the key contestants in the fray are BJP chief Amit Shah (Gandhinagar, Gujarat), Congress president Rahul Gandhi (Wayanad, Kerala), and Samajwadi Party patron Mulayam Singh Yadav (Mainpuri, UP).

During campaigning in Gujarat, the ruling BJP and Congress exchanged barbs, with leaders from both groups exuding confidence of a good showing. The BJP had swept all 26 seats in 2014.

In Maharashtra, the prominent seats in the third phase include Jalna, where state BJP president Raosaheb Danveis is in the fray, and Baramati, where Supriya Sule, the daughter of NCP chief Sharad Pawar, is contesting.

The LS polls are being conducted in seven phases till May 19. The election results will be declared on May 23. — PTI


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On