Thursday, August 22, 2019

Posted at: Aug 14, 2019, 11:17 AM; last updated: Aug 15, 2019, 6:31 AM (IST)

Wing Commander Abhinandan Varthaman to be conferred Vir Chakra

Wing Commander Abhinandan Varthaman to be conferred Vir Chakra
Wing Commander Abhinandan Varthaman. PTI file photo

Tribune News Service
New Delhi, August 14

Wing Commander Abhinandan Varthaman, who chased Pakistani air force jets into Pakistan and shot down one of them on February 27 this year will be awarded the Vir Chakra, the country’s third highest battle honour.

The award is expected to be formally announced on Wednesday evening.

Indian Air Force and Pakistani Air Force were locked in an air duel over Noushera in Jammu and Kashmir when Wing Commander Varthaman chased the PAF jets and was shot down himself. He was captured by Pakistan and returned some 36 hours later.

Besides, seven IAF pilots will get the Vayu Sena Medal for gallantry and this includes the ‘Balakot bombers’. On February 26, at around 3.30 am, a team of Mirage fighter jets had dropped spice 200 guided bombs over Balakot in Pakistan. This team is based in Gwalior.

Five yudh sewa medals will also be awarded.


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On