Wednesday, October 16, 2019

Posted at: Sep 21, 2019, 3:32 PM; last updated: Sep 21, 2019, 8:52 PM (IST)

Bypolls to four Punjab Assembly seats on Oct 21

Bypolls to four Punjab Assembly seats on Oct 21
The counting will be held on October 24. File

Chandigarh, September 21

Byelections to four Assembly constituencies in Congress-ruled Punjab will be held on October 21, the Election Commission announced on Saturday.

The byelections were necessitated to Jalalabad seat, vacated by former Deputy Chief Minister and Akali Dal president Sukhbir Singh Badal; Dhaka seat, vacated by AAP’s H.S. Phoolka; Phagwara, the segment vacated by BJP’s Som Parkash; and Mukerian, vacated after Rajnish Pabbi of the Congress passed away.

The counting of votes will be held on October 24.

The Congress has 78 legislators in a House of 117. — IANS


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On