Sunday, September 22, 2019

Posted at: Apr 22, 2019, 7:08 AM; last updated: Apr 22, 2019, 10:15 AM (IST)MAHABALLOT 2019

Filing of papers begins in Punjab

Filing of papers begins in Punjab
The electoral process in Punjab begins today. File photo

Ruchika M Khanna

Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, April 21

The electoral process in Punjab begins tomorrow (Monday) with the filing of nominations. The state goes to the polls along with Chandigarh (1), Himachal Pradesh (4), Uttar Pradesh (13), Bihar (8 constituencies), Jharkhand (3), Madhya Pradesh (8) and West Bengal (9)  on May 19. 

ThePunjab Congress and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) have announced candidates for all 13 seats. The Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) is yet to announce its candidates for two crucial seats — Bathinda and Ferozepur. Speculation is rife over sitting Akali MP Harsimrat Kaur Badal being renominated from Bathinda and SAD president Sukhbir Badal contesting from neighbouring Ferozepur. 

Over the past few days, the couple has stepped up campaigning in these constituencies. The BJP, an ally of the SAD, will contest three of the 13 seats. It has fielded Union Minister Hardeep Puri from Amritsar. It is yet to announce candidates for Hoshiarpur and Gurdaspur.

Sukhpal Singh Khaira-led Punjabi Ekta Party has brought factions of various parties under the umbrella of  Punjab Democratic Alliance (PDA), which has declared its nominees for all parliamentary seats. The SAD breakaway group, Akali Dal (Taksali) is caught in a “now o,  now off” alliance with the PDA. Though an understanding has been reached on the Khadoor Sahib seat in favour of Bibi Paramjit Kaur Khalra, there is no formal understanding for the remaining seat yet. The party has fielded two candidates, one from Anandpur Sahib and the other Sangrur. 

The poll battle in Punjab will be different this time with all three main political parties facing dissent. Both AAP and SAD, which faced rebellion much before the poll process was set in motion, seem well prepared now having weathered the storm. However,  the ruling Congress continues to grapple with rebellion after declaration of candidates.

Constituencies 13

Reserved seats 4

Voters 2.03cr

Male 1.07cr

Female 96.19L

Third gender 507

Polling stations 23,213

The schedule

  • April 29: Last day for nominations
  • April 30: Scrutiny of papers  
  • May 2: Last date for withdrawals


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On