Tuesday, November 12, 2019

Posted at: Oct 21, 2019, 7:12 AM; last updated: Oct 21, 2019, 7:12 AM (IST)

In Jalalabad, stage set for fierce battle

In the fray

  • Raminder Singh Awla (Congress); Raj Singh Dibbipura (SAD); Mahinder Singh Kachura (AAP); Jagdeep Joginder Singh, Goldy Kamboj, Raj Singh and Joginder Singh (all Independents)

2017 result

  • Winner:Sukhbir S Badal (SAD)
  • Runner-up:Bhagwant Mann (AAP)
In Jalalabad, stage set for fierce battle

Praful Chander Nagpal

Fazilka, October 20

As many as 239 polling parties of government employees have taken position at the booths with EVMs for the bypoll in the Jalalabad Assembly constituency on Sunday evening.

District Election Officer-cum-DC, Fazilka, Manpreet Singh Chhatwal said polling booths had been set up at 169 locations in the segment. Of the total 239 polling booths, 100 have been identified as sensitive and four as hypersensitive.

About 2.04 lakh voters shall exercise the right to franchise in the Jalalabad segment.

The DC said Jalalabad had been divided into four sectors and one SP each had been deployed in each sector to maintain law and order situation. He said nine flying squads, nine statistic surveillance teams, three video surveillance teams, one video viewing team and an accounting team had been keeping an eye on the election process.

Fazilka SSP Bhupinder Singh said as many as 375 police personnel had been deployed to maintain law and order. Besides this, two companies of the BSF and three companies of PAP would keep an eye on the sensitive booths, he added.

The voting time has been fixed from 7 am to 6 pm.


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On