Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Punjab » Politics

Posted at: Jun 2, 2016, 1:19 AM; last updated: Jun 2, 2016, 1:19 AM (IST)

Ex-MP Phalianwala joins AAP

Ex-MP Phalianwala joins AAP
BSP leader Mohan Singh Phalianwala with AAP leader Sanjay Singh in Chandigarh. Tribune photo: Manoj Mahajan

Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, June 1

Former Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) MP from Ferozepur Mohan Singh Phalianwala today joined the Aam Aadmi Party.

He, along with a large number of supporters, joined AAP at Chandigarh in presence of party leaders Sucha Singh Chhotepur, Sanjay Singh, Bhagwant Mann and Durgesh Pathak.

Welcoming Phalianwala into the party fold, Sanjay Singh said that he was a Dalit leader who was known for his honesty. The party would definitely get the benefit of his clean image.

Phalianwala represented Ferozepur constituency in 1992 and 1996. He was state president of the BSP from 1986 to 2002. He contested his first election in 1986. He also served as member of the central executive of the party.

Phalianwala said that he had joined the BSP under Kanshi Ram’s influence. He said that after Kanshi Ram, the party lost its direction. So, he decided to join AAP. He said that AAP was fighting for the poor and Dalits.

Chhotepur said that people from every walk of life were coming together to change the political system of the country.


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On