Punjab assembly polls: BJP announces 34 candidates in first list

Hits out at Channi and Bhagwant Mann, predicts ‘surprising results’ for party-led coalition

Punjab assembly polls: BJP announces 34 candidates in first list

For representation. File photo

Tribune News Service

Vibha Sharma
Tribune News Service
New Delhi, January 21

The BJP on Friday released the first list of 34 candidates for the upcoming election to the 117-member Punjab assembly, slamming both Congress’ Chief Minister Charanjit Singh Channi and AAP’s chief ministerial candidate Bhagwant Mann while predicting a “surprising verdict” favouring the coalition led by it in the state.  

Punjab BJP in-charge Dushyant Gautam, who hit out at the Congress Government on its “failure to resolve issues related to corruption, misgovernance, sacrilege, illegal sand mining and drug addiction,” also took a direct dig at CM Channi, referring to the recent ED raids, including on those linked to him. “All the problems remain, which shows that no progress was made in the past five years. Congress’ present CM (Charanjit Singh Channi) is himself deep in corruption…in his own constituency illegal sand mining is happening. It also needs to be investigated how he managed to amass such wealth in just two-three months,” Gautam said.

He also hit out at the state government over the “breach of the Prime Minister’s security”. 

And while highlighting the steps taken by the Narendra Modi-led Centre for Punjab, Gautam predicted “surprising results”, favouring the coalition. The people have made up their mind, we are sure that the coalition will do very well in the elections,” he said.

Union minister Hardeep Puri, who too slammed Channi for “illegal sand mining in his constituency”, also urged for “deep reflection” on CM candidates of both Congress and APP given the sensitive nature of the border state and its contribution to the nation.

Without naming Mann, Puri said he was neither against social drinking nor was he taking a moral position. “Doing ‘nasha is a personal choice…but there are videos, facts speak for themselves…I am not taking moral position on drinking (alcohol)…If you like social drinking, you can…but in a sensitive state like Punjab can you make a man with such an image your face,” he questioned.

Interestingly, he also referred to BJP’s earlier coalition with the Akali Dal as “bad marriage”, adding “I am glad they left on their own”. 

In coalition with Capt Amarinder Singh-led Punjab Lok Congress and Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa-led Shiromani Akali Dal (Sanyukt), the BJP is contesting around 65 seats. 

Leaders said the rest of the names will be announced soon.

Announcing the first list general secretary Tarun Chugh said the party has given representation to all sections of society, including 12 persons from farmer’ families, eight from scheduled castes, and 13 candidates are Sikhs. “The list has doctors, lawyers, sportspersons, farmers, youth, women, and former IAS,” Chugh said. 

Among those fielded by the BJP are Manoranjan Kalia (Jalandhar central) Rana Gurmeet Singh Sodhi (Ferozepur city) Kanwarveer Singh Tohra (grandson of Gurcharan Singh Tohra) from Amloh, Surjit Kumar Jiyani from Fazilka and Tikshan Sood from Hoshiarpur. The list includes women candidates Renu Kashyup and Nimisha Mehta, Kabbadi player Ranjit Singh Khojewala and retired IAS officer SR Laddhar. It is not yet clear who will contest from Chamkaur Sahib and Amritsar east from where Channi and state Congress chief Navjot Singh Sidhu will fight or Dhuri from where Mann will contest.      

Here's a list of their candidates: 

Kapurthala: Ranjit Singh Khojewal, a kabaddi player
Jalandhar West Mahendra Pal Bhagat
Jalandhar Central Manoranjan Kalia
Jalandhar North Krishandev Bhandari
Mukeria : Jangi Lal Mahajan
Dasuya: Raghunath Rana,
Hoshiarpur: Tikshan Sood
Chabewal (SC): Dr Dilbagh Rai
Garshankar: Namisha Mehta
Banga: Mohan Lal
Balachaur: Ashok Baath
Fatehgarh Sahib: Deedar Singh Bhatti
Amloh: Kanwar Vir Singh Tohra from the family of Gurcharan Singh Tohra
Khanna: Gurpreet Singh Bhatti
Ludhiana central: Gurdev Sharma
Ludhiana west: Advocate Vikram Singh Sidhu
Gill: SR Laddar, retd IAS
Jagraon : Kanwar Narinder Singh
Ferozepur City: Sitting MLA Rana Gurmit Singh Sodhi
Jalalabad: Puran Chand
Fazilka: Surjit Jyani
Abohar: Arun Narang
Mukhtsar: Rajesh Bathela
Faridkot: Gaurav Kakkar
Bhuchomandi : Rupinder Singh Sidhu
Talwandi Sabo: Ravi Preet Singh Sidhu
Sardulgarh: Jagjit Singh Milkha
Sangrur: Arvind Khanna
Dera Bassi: Sanjiv Khanna

#BJP #Channi #list #PMsecuritybreach #Punjabpolls #Punjabpolls2022 #release

Tribune Shorts

Top News

Survey under way at Gyanvapi Masjid complex for third day amid tight security

Gyanvapi Masjid survey concludes on third day amid tight security

Three court-appointed advocate commissioners, five lawyers e...

California churchgoers detained gunman in deadly attack; 1 dead, 5 hurt

California churchgoers detained gunman in deadly attack; 1 dead, 5 hurt

The shooting occurred during a lunch banquet after a morning...

Himachal police fail to locate phones of middlemen in constable paper leak case

Himachal police fail to locate phones of middlemen in constable paper leak case

Deliberate disappearance of evidence (cellphones) indicates ...


View All