CM Charanjit Channi meets Governor; 15 Punjab ministers to take oath on Sunday

At least 7 new faces have made it to the new cabinet; 5 former ministers likely to be dropped

Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, September 25

With the list of ministers in the Charanjit Channi cabinet finalised, the oath-taking ceremony will take place at 4.30 pm on Sunday.

Also read: Iqbal Preet Singh Sahota appointed officiating DGP of Punjab

With the CM and Deputy CMs Sukhjinder Randhawa and OP Soni already having taken oath, 15 more ministers will be sworn in on Sunday.

Channi met Governor Banwarilal Purohit here on Saturday afternoon who told him that the oath ceremony would take place on Sunday evening.

As reported earlier, five former ministers in the Amarinder Singh cabinet are being dropped.

Opinions page: Annihilating identities: Channi’s elevation as Punjab CM raises hope of empowerment of oppressed classes

Though the official confirmation of the list is awaited, it is learnt that the ministers who are likely to be dropped are Sadhu Singh Dharamsot, Shyam Sunder Arora, Balbir Sidhu, Gurpreet Kangar and Rana Gurmeet Sodhi.

CM Charanjit Singh Channi talks to the media in Chandigarh on Saturday. Tribune photo: Manoj Mahajan

At least seven new faces have made it to the new cabinet. These are likely to be Raj Kumar Verka, Sangat Singh Gilzian, Amrinder Singh Raja Warring, Rana Gurjeet, Gurkirat Kotli, Kuljit Nagra and Pargat Singh.

Tribune Shorts


View All