Tuesday, October 15, 2019

Posted at: May 23, 2019, 8:48 AM; last updated: May 24, 2019, 7:15 AM (IST)

Punjab: Congress wins 8 of 13 seats, Capt proves he’s in command

SAD, BJP bag two each, AAP 1

Ruchika M. Khanna
Tribune News Service
Chandigarh, May 23

The Congress upped its tally in the Lok Sabha from Punjab, winning eight of the 13 parliamentary seats, up from four in 2014.

Alliance partners SAD and BJP won two seats each and the embattled Aam Aadmi Party was on course of winning Sangrur, where its president Bhagwant Mann is contesting. 

Also read: Amarinder fires salvo at Sidhu; says he is unable to run his own department

Congress has to pay for Sidhu's Pakistan visit: CM

Keep your word and quit: Tweeple to Sidhu on Rahul’s Amethi loss

The biggest takeaway from the win for the BJP on two of the three seats it contested – Gurdaspur and Hoshiarpur – was the pro-Modi sentiment in certain pockets of Punjab.
The state, however, bucked the national trend by giving an overall big win to the Congress, and not voting in favour of the Akali-BJP alliance. The BJP can take solace in the fact that the Modi factor played out well in two of the three seats.

Also, with the party finally emerging from the shadow of the Akali Dal in Punjab, it could well mean a shift in the power balance between the two alliance partners.

SAD president Sukhbir Singh Badal won Ferozepur seat by a record margin of 1,97,008 votes. In Bathinda, his wife and Union Minister Harsimrat Kaur Badal won by 21,772 votes.

Union minister and BJP candidate Hardeep Singh Puri lost Amritsar seat to Gurjeet Singh Aujla, sitting Congress MP, by a margin of 99,626 votes.

BJP's gamble to field Sunny Deol from the Gurdaspur constituency finally paid off with the Bollywood actor winning the seat by defeating Congress heavyweight and sitting MP Sunil Jakhar.

Deol, 59, defeated the Punjab Congress chief with a margin of 82,459 votes, the Election Commission said.

After registering a resounding victory, Deol said he would work for the welfare of voters from the border constituency.

"I was confident that people of this constituency love me a lot and ensure my victory (from Gurdaspur Lok Sabha seat)," he said. — With agency inputs





Others Lead/Margin


GS Aujla Won

Hardeep S Puri



Anandpur Sahib

Manish Tewari Won

Prem Singh Chandumajra 



Amrinder Singh Raja Warring Harsimrat Badal


Faridkot - SC

Mohd Sadiq Won

Gulzar Singh Ranike


Fatehgarh Sahib -SC

Amar Singh Won

Darbara Singh Guru



Sher Singh Ghubaya

Sukhbir Singh Badal Won




Sunny Deol Won


Hoshiarpur (SC)

Raj Kumar Chabbewal

Som Prakash Won


Jalandhar (SC)

Chaudhary Santokh Won

Charanjit Singh Atwal 


Khadoor Sahib

Jasbir Singh Dimpa Won

Bibi Jagir Kaur



Ravneet Singh Bittu Won

Mahesh Inder Singh Grewal 




Preneet Kaur

Surjit Singh Rakhra


Sangrur Kewal Singh Dhillon  Parminder Dhindsa  Bhagwant Mann Won   1,10,211


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On