Friday, August 23, 2019

Posted at: Jun 18, 2019, 12:14 PM; last updated: Jun 18, 2019, 5:27 PM (IST)

Sukhbir Badal, Sunny Deol, Bhagwant Mann take oath as MPs

Sukhbir Badal, Sunny Deol, Bhagwant Mann take oath as MPs
Bhagwant Mann. File photo

New Delhi, June 18

Shiromani Akali Dal chief Sukhbir Singh Badal, actor Sunny Deol and Aam Aadmi Party’s lone MP Bhagwant Mann were among the leaders who took oath as members of the 17th Lok Sabha on Tuesday.

IUDF leader Badruddin Ajmal and former Union ministers Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore and Preneet Kaur were also administered oath on the second day of the maiden session.

Dressed in jeans, a white shirt and a blazer, Deol took oath in English amid cheers from the treasury benches.

There was a slip of tongue by the BJP MP from Gurdaspur when he said “withhold the sovereignty and integrity of the country” instead of “uphold the sovereignty and integrity of the country”, but he quickly rectified it.

There was some banter between Mann and members of treasury benches after he ended his oath with the slogan ‘Inqalab Zindabad’.

Badal concluded his oath with the chant of ‘Wahe Guruji ka Khalsa, Wahe Guruji de Fateh’.

Kaur, who is the wife of Punjab Chief Minister Capt Amarinder Singh, had bandage on her forehead.

The maiden session of 17th Lok Sabha commenced on Monday with Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Congress president Rahul Gandhi, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, Home Minister Amit Shah and Transport and Highways minister Nitin Gadkari among the prominent members who took oath on the first day. PTI


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On