Monday, November 18, 2019

Posted at: Feb 7, 2019, 11:23 AM; last updated: Feb 7, 2019, 5:46 PM (IST)

Defending champions Vidarbha wins Ranji Trophy; beats Saurashtra by 78 runs

Defending champions Vidarbha wins Ranji Trophy; beats Saurashtra by 78 runs
Vidarbha team poses with the trophy after defeating Saurashtra in the final of the Ranji Trophy, in Nagpur. PTI

Nagpur, February 7

Defending champions Vidarbha won the 85th Ranji Trophy title, beating Saurashtra by 78 runs in the summit clash here on Thursday.

Set a target of 206, Saurashtra folded for 127 in 58.4 overs, giving Vidarbha their second title triumph in the country’s marquee first-class tournament.

Left-arm spinner Aditya Sarwate was the star for Vidarbha, claiming six wickets in his 24 overs in the second innings. He had picked up 5/98 in the first innings.

Star batsman Cheteshwar Pujara, who played a stellar role in India’s maiden Test series triumph on the Australian soil last month, could not come good for Saurashtra and was dismissed cheaply in both the innings.

Brief scores

Vidarbha: 312 and 200

Saurashtra: 307 and 127 all out in 58.4 overs (Vishvaraj Jadeja 52, Aditya Sarwate (6/59). PTI


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On