Saturday, May 25, 2019
  • Prime Minister Narendra Modi unanimously elected as leader of BJP parliamentary party.

Posted at: May 26, 2018, 2:12 AM; last updated: May 26, 2018, 2:12 AM (IST)

Bahamas, St Kitts off EU tax haven list

Brussels, May 25

The EU on Friday removed the Caribbean nations of the Bahamas and Saint Kitts and Nevis from a blacklist of tax havens, bringing the number of jurisdictions to seven.

The nations, struck off from the list after providing good conduct commitments to the  EU authorities, will now move to the so-called grey list — a list of countries that have promised to do better. The blacklist now covers seven jurisdictions: Guam, Namibia, Palau, Samoa, American Samoa and Trinidad and Tobago as well as the Virgin Islands in the US.

“Having fewer and fewer jurisdictions on the (black) list shows the success of this procedure,” said Bulgarian Finance Minister Vladislav Goranov, whose country holds the EU’s six-month rotating presidency, after his counterparts agreed to remove the two nations.

The EU blacklist, adopted in December 2017 was a first in EU history. It initially comprised 17 countries. But that was halved in January with eight countries, including Panama, having provided good conduct commitments and being moved to the grey list.This reduction, particularly Panama’s withdrawal, had provoked outrage among activists. — AFP


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On