Monday, September 18, 2000,
Chandigarh, India

L U D H I A N A   S T O R I E S


Inter-school cricket tournament
From Our Sports Reporter

LUDHIANA, Sept 17— In a thrilling final of the Ludhiana District Inter-High School Cricket Tournament organised by the Education Department, Sargodha National Public School, Field Ganj, pipped Government High School, Cemetery Road, Civil Lines by one run on the campus of the B.C.M. Model School, Jamalpur, here yesterday. Batting first, Sargodha National Public School made 131 for 5 in their stipulated 20 overs. Damandeep Singh top scored with 35 runs followed by Charandeep who contributed 23 runs.

Requiring 132 runs for an outright victory, Government High School scored 130 runs, thus fell short of the target by just one run. For Sargodha National Public School, Charandeep and Damandeep Singh, shared the exploits claiming three and two wickets, respectively.

Brief scores: Sargodha National Public School — 131 for 5 ( Damandeep Singh 35, Charandeep 23, Harpreet 15, Amarjot 16, Kamal 1 for 23 and Gagandeep 2 for 20); Government High School — 130 all out ( Gurjeet 19, Rajit 17, Sandeep 14, Damandeep 2 for 16, Charandeep 3 for 18 and Sarabjeet 2 for 21).


Ludhiana team for Katoch Shield
From Our Sports Reporter

LUDHIANA, Sept 17— A sixteen- member team led by Punjab Ranji Trophy seamer Gagandeep Singh was announced by the Ludhiana District Cricket Association here yesterday at the conclusion of a training camp in the local Arya College for Boys. The selected players will represent Ludhiana in the Inter-District Cricket Tournament for Katoch Shield to be organised by the Punjab Cricket Association from September 18, according to Mr Vinod Chitkara, honorary general secretary, Ludhiana District Cricket Association.

Other members of the team are: Rakesh Saini, Bharti Vij, Bharat Bhushan, Ankur Karkkar, Charanjeet ( wicket-keeper ), Rajan Singh, Varun Gupta, Aseem Jindal, Rajesh Kumar, Tavish Gupta, Luv Abhlish, Tarun Kanish, Ashish Vinayak, Amandeep and Sunny Jerath. Prabhjot Khatra, Harkirat Singh, Sanjeev Behl and Gurpreet Khaira have been named reserve players. Mr Ashwani Kumar will be the manager of the team.

Ludhiana will begin its campaign with a match to be played at Jalandhar on September 18 and 19 against Jalandhar.

Home | Punjab | Haryana | Jammu & Kashmir | Himachal Pradesh | Regional Briefs | Nation | Editorial |
Business | Sport | World | Mailbag | In Spotlight | Chandigarh Tribune | Ludhiana Tribune
50 years of Independence | Tercentenary Celebrations |
120 Years of Trust | Calendar | Weather | Archive | Subscribe | Suggestion | E-mail |