Monday, October 30, 2000,
Chandigarh, India
L U D H I A N A   S T O R I E S


Prof Mohan Singh’s birth anniversary celebrated
From Our Correspondent

LUDHIANA, Oct 29 — The state unit of Dhan Pothohar Brotherhood celebrated the birth anniversary of Prof Mohan Singh at the Punjabi Bhavan today. It was resolved to construct an auditorium in the memory of the renowned poet of Pothohar community and also a new Pothohar Public School in the city. The function was presided over by Mr Apinder Singh Grewal, Mayor, Municipal Corporation.

The organisation demanded the release of a postal stamp in the memory of Prof Mohan Singh and requested the Municipal Corporation to beautify Prof Mohan Singh Marg at the earliest.

Addressing the function, Mr Apinder Singh Grewal appreciated the efforts of the organisation which kept the community linked with the Pothohari culture and heritage. He said that communities which work for the promotion of their culture, earn special respect in the world. He said ,Prof Mohan Singh had made tremendous contributions for the development of Punjabi language and literature and he became the poet of masses whom the coming generations could never forget.

Speaking on the occasion Mr N.S. Nanda, president of the organisation, said that the Pothohar community had produced a large number of prominent personalities, including Master Tara Singh, Mr Inder Kumar Gujral,Mr Kartar Singh Duggal, Bhai Jodh Singh,Mr Jagjit Singh Anand and many more, who not only earned a good name for the community, but also brought honours for the whole country.

Mr Nanda, also highlighted the activities of the organisation since its inception in promoting the rich Pothohari culture and heritage.On this occasion Mr Mohinder Singh Cheema and Mr Harbans Singh, contemporaries of Prof Mohan Singh, read out papers on his outstanding contribution to the Punjabi literature and language. Mr Saroop Singh Alag, a Punjabi poet who has settled aboard and belonged to Pothohar community, was honoured on the occasion.

Prominent among others who were present on the occasion included Mr Gurdip Singh Sarna, Mr Amar Singh Badehra, Mr Surjit Singh Bhatia, Dr Kewal Dhir, Mr G.S. Mokha and Mr Joginder Singh Sibal. Back


Home | Punjab | Haryana | Jammu & Kashmir | Himachal Pradesh | Regional Briefs | Nation | Editorial |
Business | Sport | World | Mailbag | In Spotlight | Chandigarh Tribune | Ludhiana Tribune
50 years of Independence | Tercentenary Celebrations |
120 Years of Trust | Calendar | Weather | Archive | Subscribe | Suggestion | E-mail |