Tuesday, February 12, 2002, Chandigarh, India


N C R   S T O R I E S


Venkat, Jayaprakash to umpire Test series
Our Sports Reporter

New Delhi, February 11
Former Indian cricket captain S. Venkataraghavan and A. V. Jayaprakash will be the field umpires for the two-Test series to be played between India and Zimbabwe later this month. Narendra Menon and Jasbir Singh will be the third umpires while Sanjeev Rao and Rajan K. Sethi will be the reserve umpires. The International Cricket Council umpire has not yet been named.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) Umpires’ Sub-Committee met under the chairmanship of Mr C. K. Khanna, senior vice-president of the BCCI, at the Delhi and District Cricket Association (DDCA) premises to finalise the names of the umpires. Others who attended the meeting were Prof R. R. Rohi, Mr Ranga Reddy, Mr Gautam Das Gupta, Prof R. S. Shetty, Mr M. N. Dorairajan and Mr Jyoti Bajpai (convenor).

The umpires for the One-Day Internationals will be:

Field umpires: K. Hariharan, S. C. Gupta, I. Sivaram, V. K. Chopra, Devendra Sharma, S. K. Porel, Alok Bhattacharjee, K. K. Tarapore, S. Bandekar and K. G. Laxminarayan.

Third umpires: M. S. Mahal, S. Phadkar, Suresh Shastri, G. A. Pratap Kumar and B. S. P Rao.

Reserve Umpires: Umesh Kumar, Kulkarni, K. N. Raghavan, R. Radhakrishnan and A. M. Saheba.



Strong field for Grand Prix Golf
Our Sports Reporter

New Delhi, February 11
A strong field is expected for the third Royal Challenge Grand Prix series, to be held at the Royal Calcutta Golf Course from February 26. The Rs 8-lakh event is the third in the series of Grand Prix events.

The three events which have been spread over the period from December to February are the run-up to the Royal Challenge showpiece, the US $ 300,0000 Indian Open to be held at the Delhi Golf Club from March 14 to 17.

The Kolkata event will decide the RCGP money winner in the race for the two spots on the Indian team which will face an Asian duo in a special event on the eve of the Indian Open. The winners of that match play event will get Rs 2 lakh each, while the losers will receive Rs 1 lakh each.

The RCGP Kolkata, which is part of the Hero Honda Indian PGA Tour, will be a 54-hole event running from February 26 to 28. The tournament will be preceded by a Pro-Am.

In the first event of the RCGP series in Noida, Vijay Kumar edged out Jyoti Randhawa in the first play-off hole, while in the second in Mumbai, Mukesh Kumar staved of a strong last day challenge from Arjun Singh.

The event will see a keen contest between the two in-form golfers, Mukesh Kumar and Feroz Ali, currently No 1 on the Indian Order of Merit. Mukesh is also the leader on the RCGP money list after two events, having won the Mumbai event and finishing fourth in Noida. Feroz Ali, who learnt his early golf in Calcutta, finished fifth in Mumbai and will be looking forward to make up by trying to win this Kolkata title.

Another strong contender will be Vijay Kumar, the winner of the RCGP Noida, who is close behind Mukesh.



Hansraj Model School lift R P Jain Trophy
Our Sports Reporter

New Delhi, February 11
A dashing knock of 90 by Manu Sharma and deadly bowling of 3 for 39 by Kartikey Bhatia helped Hansraj Model School, Punjabi Bagh beat defending champions Salwan Boys School by 15 runs to win the fifth Reebok Rohtak Road Gymkhana Inter-School (Under-16) Cricket Tournament for the R P Jain Trophy at the Bharat Nagar Sports Complex ground.

Electing to bat, Hansraj Model School scored 189 for 7 in the allotted 14 overs. Hansraj were 14 for 3 at one stage, but Manu Sharma and Mohit Sharma added 82 runs for the fourth wicket to retrieve the lost ground. Manu Sharma scored 90 runs with eight boundaries while Mohit Sharma scored 21 and Abhishek Gulati an unbeaten 23.

Salwan Boys, in reply, were all out for 174 in 38.4 overs. Anuj Jain of Hansraj was declared the best batsman of the tournament while the best bowler award went to Ashutosh Sharma and the best all-rounder award to Kartikey Bhatia. Gaurav Chabra of Salwan was adjudged the man of the tournament and the most promising player award was given to Lav Sehrawat.

Asian Games wrestling gold medallist Satpal, who is the deputy director of sports, Delhi, gave away the prizes while Vinod Jain presided over the closing function.

Hansraj Model School, Punjabi Bagh:
189/7 in 40 overs (Manu Sharma 90, Abhishek Gulati 23 n o, Mohit Sharma 21, Deepak Rai 2/22, Ashutosh Sharma 2/47).

Salwan Boys: 174 in 38.4 overs (Gaurav Chabra 31, Yogesh Nagar 25, Nitin Kumar 22, Deepak Rai 20, Kartikey Bhatia 3/39, Neeraj Bansal 2/09).


Ashok Kumar to turn pro at Hero Honda Masters

New Delhi, February 11
Ashok Kumar, India’s No 1 amateur golfer for the past two years and one of the most exciting talents to emerge from the country in recent times, has decided to give up his amateur status and turn pro at the Hero Honda Masters 2002, which begins at the DLF Golf and Country Club course in Gurgaon from Wednesday.

“I gave it a lot of thought and discussed it with (1982 Asian Games gold medallist) Amit Luthra and several other players. I found myself stagnating as an amateur. I would play one sub-par round and find myself way ahead of the field. I needed the competition and I will get it only in pro tournaments. I have always played my best in professional events,” said the 20-year-old Ashok about his decision.

Ashok will be remembered for his excellent performance in the 1999 Hero Honda Masters when he surprised a quality field and featured in the leader group on the final day of the tournament. In fact, he was placed second after 12 holes on the final day, but made a triple bogey on the 13th hole of the Delhi Golf Club, and then trailed to finish 18th. In his amateur career, Ashok won the individual title in the SAARC Championship twice, apart from winning the National Amateur Championships of various countries like China, Singapore, Malaysia and Myanmar. He also represented the country in the Eisenhower Cup.

Arun Sharma bowls Lucent to victory

A devastating spell of 6 for 25 by Arun Sharma helped Lucent Technologies beat Hero Honda by six runs in the ninth Teri Cup Cricket Tournament organised by TERI at the Central Secretariat ground. Arun Sharma was adjudged the man of the match.

Lucent Technologies:
130 for 7 in 25 overs (Rajesh 34 n o, 7x4; Ramnath 26, 2x4).

Hero Honda: 124 in 23.5 overs (Hitender Singh 39, 5x4, 1x6; Arun Sharma 6/25; Rajesh 2/31). OC



Salwan Boys win Nahar Singh cricket title
Our Sports Reporter

New Delhi, February 11
Tarun Chowdhary hit a strokeful 60, Yogesh Nagar cracked 51 and Tausif Majid claimed 3 for 23 as Salwan Boys beat Sonnet Club by 31 runs in the final of the first Choudhary Nahar Singh Vir Singh Saini (115 points) Memorial Cricket Tournament organised by S B Youth Club at the Bharat Nagar ground.

Tausif Majid was adjudged the best bowler while Yogesh Nagar of Salwan was adjudged the best batsman. The best all-rounder award went to Shobhit Kaushik of Sonnet while Jasbir Singh, also of Sonnet, was adjudged the man of the final.

Delhi and District Cricket Association (DDCA) sports secretary Sunil Dev gave away the prizes.

Salwan Boys:
198 in 37.5 overs (Tarun Chowdhary 60, Yogesh Nagar 51, Devender 35, Darshan Kajania 3/25, Saurabh Chandna 2/28).

Sonnet Club: 167 in 37.4 overs (Jasbir Singh 93, Ramandeep 39, Tausif Majid 3/23, Ashutosh Sharma 2/31).


Home | Punjab | Haryana | Jammu & Kashmir | Himachal Pradesh | Regional Briefs | Nation | Editorial |
Business | Sport | World | Mailbag | In Spotlight | Chandigarh Tribune | Ludhiana Tribune
50 years of Independence | Tercentenary Celebrations |
122 Years of Trust | Calendar | Weather | Archive | Subscribe | Suggestion | E-mail |