N C R   S T O R I E S


New Delhi figures in Olympic flame route
Our Sports Reporter

New Delhi, November 26
The Athens 2004 Olympic Torch Relay will pass through New Delhi to set a historic precedent as New Delhi will then join the family of Olympic Games host cities as confirmed stop for the flame during its global journey.

Officials of the Athens 2004 Organising Committee for the Olympic Games and Relay Presenting Sponsor Coca-Cola have now made it official that New Delhi and just a “handful of other international cities” have been added to a historic, global relay schedule that includes each host city for the summer Games since their arrival in 1896. The worldwide route—the first of its kind—has been designated to retrace the path of the Modern Olympic Games.

The Olympic flame for the 28th Olympic Games in Athens (Greece) is expected to arrive in New Delhi on June 10, 2004. New Delhi has been chosen as one of the 34 cities for the Olympic Torch Relay. This is the first time in the Olympics history that India figures in the global route map of the Olympic Torch Relay.

The other cities en route are Brussels (Belgium), Cairo (Egypt), Cape Town (South Africa), Geneva and Lausanne (Switzerland), Istanbul (Turkey), Kiev (Ukraine), New York (USA), Nicosia (Cyprus), Rio de Janeiro (Brazil) and Sofia (Bulgaria). The theme for the Athens Olympics is ‘Pass the Flame, Unite the World’.


Ajit Singh leads Zara to thrilling victory
Our Sports Reporter

New Delhi, November 26
Ajit Singh fired the deciding goal in the shoot-out to help Zara beat Aravali 8-7 in the opening match of the Rabo India Maharaja Hari Singh Memorial Cup Polo Tournament at the Jaipur Polo Ground on Wednesday.

In another match, South Delhi vanquished Army 13-5 to join Zara in the last four line-up. The other two semi-finalists will be decided after Thursday’s clash between Royal Kashmir Army vs Teachers and Signature vs Jindal Steel and Power. Ajit Singh scored three goals to play the star role in the Zara-Aravali match. Dhruvpal Godara drew first blood for Zara with a well-executed goal in the first chukker.

Karan Thapar equalised for Aravali. Mazini regained the lead for Zara before the conclusion of the first chukker.

Ajit enhanced the lead for Zara in the second chukker, but David Bernal struck a goal for Aravali to keep their hopes alive.

Godara and Mazini scored for Zara in the third chukker and Zara took an unassailable position when Ajit found the mark again in the fourth chukker. Then Aravali fought back to make it a close affair before Zara prevailed.

In the second match, Samsher Ali accounted for eight goals in the runaway victory of South Delhi over Army.

Phillip Elliot chipped in with four goals and Bala Mallay contributed one goal.


Rohtak School go down in Subroto Cup
Our Sports Reporter

New Delhi, November 26
Saraswati Senior Secondary School, Rohtak went down to Dumdum Kumar Ashutosh Institute, Kolkata (West Bengal) 0-2 in the Subroto Mukherjee Cup Football Tournament at the Ambedkar Stadium on Wednesday. After a goalless first half, Subhankar and Anup Dutta hit the target in the 38th and 53rd minute respectively for the Kolkata team.

In one of the most lop-sided matches, Oxford Higher Secondary School, Aizawl (Mizoram) drubbed NCC, Karnataka and Goa 7-0. Vanlal Peka and Lalramihuna scored a brace each while Lalsangbera, Zodinthara and Zodinglana scored a goal each. The Mizo team also wasted at least half a dozen chances. They now take on Army Boys, Danapur to decide the group toppers on Thursday.

In another one-sided match, Government Higher Secondary

School, Dimapur crushed Sainik School, Imphal 5-0. Khobu scored three goals and Sakotemjen accounted for a brace.

Army Boys BRC, Danapur defeated Guru Gobind Singh Sports College, Lucknow 2-0. Arjun Tudu scored both the goals, once in each half.

Thursday’s fixtures: Sainik School, Imphal vs Saraswati School, Rohtak (9 a m); NCC, Karnataka and Goa vs Guru Gobind Singh College (10.30 a m); Dumdum Institute vs Govt School, Dimapur (2 pm); Oxford School vs BRC, Danapur (3.30 pm)—Ambedkar Stadium..


Hansraj School lift Sistani cricket title
Our Sports Reporter

New Delhi, November 26
All-round performances by Sahil Arora (66 and 3 for 35) and Sachin Gaurav Rathi (43 and 3 for 39) enabled Hansraj Model School defeat Sarvodaya Bal Vidyalaya by 78 runs to annex the seventh H S Sistani Inter-School Cricket Tournament at the S S Khalsa School ground, Lajpat Nagar.

Gaurav Chabra was adjudged the best batsman while Lalit Rana got the best bowler award. Kartikey Bhatia was named the man of the tournament.

The prizes were presented by chairman of the National Commission for Minorities Tarlochan Singh, who is also a vice-president of the Indian Olympic Association. Amar Singh, Narender Singh Sistani and Preet Mahender were also present.

Scores: Hansraj Model School: 216 for 9 in 30 overs (Sahil Arora 66, Sachin Gaurav Rathi 43, S Mandley 35, Lalit Rana 4 for 40, Amit Kumar 3 for 30).

Sarvodaya Vidyalaya: 138 all out in 25.4 overs (Dharmender Kumar 50, Harsh Vardhan 38, Sachin Gaurav Rathi 3 for 37, Sahil Arora 3 for 25, Ankur Garg 2 for 17).


Air Sahara fly past Delhi Blues

NEW DELHI: Air Sahara flew past Delhi Blues with a six-wicket victory in the third C L Gupta Memorial Cricket Tournament for the Prem Lata Trophy at the Mohan Meakin ground and entered the semi-final.

Scores: Delhi Blues: 155 (Ankit Kayastha 35, Mukesh Deewan 26, Nikhil Punia 25, Sandeep Moar 24, Kapil Mehta 4 for 28, Dinesh Yadav 3 for 17, Surender Dayma 2 for 31).

Air Sahara: 4 for 156 in 29 overs (Deepak Bhatnagar 69 n o, Surender Dayma 30, Randhir 2 for 43).

Aviva Junior Cricket

The Aviva Young Achiever (Under-13) two-day cricket tournament, to be organised by the Khushal Cricket Coaching Trust, will start in the first week of December at the Gyan Bharati School ground, Saket. Twelve academy and club teams will participate in the tournament. Entries close with Rajinder at 32031751 or 9811004516. OSR

HOME PAGE | Punjab | Haryana | Jammu & Kashmir | Himachal Pradesh | Regional Briefs | Nation | Opinions |
| Business | Sports | World | Mailbag | Chandigarh | Ludhiana | National Capital |
| Calendar | Weather | Archive | Subscribe | Suggestion | E-mail |