M A I N   N E W S

Powar in team for Pak tour

Kolkata, March 1
Mumbai off-spinner Ramesh Powar was a surprise inclusion today in the 15-member Indian one-day squad for this month’s Pakistan tour which will be missed by two leading bowlers, Anil Kumble and Ajit Agarkar, who are on the injured list.

The 25-year-old Powar, who has an outstanding performance in the domestic circuit, comes into the squad in place of injured offie Harbhajan Singh.

Left-arm speedsters Zaheer Khan and Ashish Nehra, who were fighting against time to recover full fitness, were included in the team announced by the cricket board selection committee chairman S.K. Nair after a marathon four-hour meeting.

However, Nair said, Nehra’s inclusion was subject to fitness which he must prove in the Duleep Trophy final in Mohali starting on March 4.

The Indian team, scheduled to play five one-dayers followed by three Tests, will leave for Pakistan on March 10.

Nair said the Test team would be announced on March 22.

Team: Sourav Ganguly (capt), Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Rahul Dravid, VVS Laxman, Yuvraj Singh, Mohd Kaif, Hemang Badani, Parthiv Patel, Zaheer Khan, Irfan Pathan, Laxmipathy Balaji, Murali Kartik, Ramesh Powar, Ashish Nehra.

Mr Nair further said that in order to ensure match fitness, Ashish Nehra is being advised to play the Duleep Trophy final for North Zone from March 4 to 8.

Although Nehra is not in the North Zone squad, BCCI will write to the convener of the North zone and the chairman of the North Zone selection committee to include the bowler in the team so that his match fitness is ensured.

Earlier in the morning, Anil Kumble, Ajit Agarkar and Harbhajan Singh were ruled out owing to injuries on the basis of medical reports received by the Board.

“Kumble and Agarkar will, however, be considered for the Test squad subject to their fitness at that time,” Mr Nair said.

The marathon four-hour meeting was also attended by captain Sourav Ganguly and coach John Wright.

Nair said the team for the three-match Test series would be named on March 22.

India embark on the historic tour of Pakistan on March 10. — PTI

HOME PAGE | Punjab | Haryana | Jammu & Kashmir | Himachal Pradesh | Regional Briefs | Nation | Opinions |
| Business | Sports | World | Mailbag | Chandigarh | Ludhiana | National Capital |
| Calendar | Weather | Archive | Subscribe | Suggestion | E-mail |