L U D H I A N A   S T O R I E S


Board officials harassing docs, alleges IMA
Our Correspondent

Ludhiana, March 6
The district unit of the Indian Medical Association (IMA) has complained to the Chairman, Punjab Pollution Control Board (PPCB), that some officials of the board were harassing doctors in the state by demanding money.

In a letter to the board Chairman, Dr Gursharan Singh, president, IMA, Ludhiana, said the officials were not clear about various rules. Previously, they had been saying that the clause relating to liquid waste did not apply to hospitals with less than 50 beds. But now they were saying that it was compulsory for every hospital. Same was the case with other clauses. This had caused utter confusion among doctors. The officials visiting hospitals were allegedly demanding money openly. Dr Gursharan asked the Chairman to order an inquiry into the matter. 



Grewal memorial hockey meet from March 8
Our Sports Reporter

Ludhiana, March 6
Six top women hockey outfits of the country will be vying for top honours in the Eighth All-India Mohinder Partap Singh Grewal Memorial Hockey Tournament to be held from March 8 to 12 at Prithipal Singh Stadium of Punjab Agricultural University.

Giving this information, Mr D.S. Grewal, working president, MPSG Trust, said the teams had been placed into two pools. Pool 'A' consisted of defending champions Northern Railway along with Central Railway and Uttar Pradesh XI while pool 'B', had teams from North Eastern Railway, SAI, Chandigarh and Dhanoa Academy, Punjab.

The Indian Women's Hockey Federation (IWHF) had nominated S.S. Walia as the tournament director. Olympian Madhu Yadav and former international players Saroj Bansal, Rajinder Gandhi, Ritudaman Sharma and Davinder Singh had been named umpires. Prithpal Kohli, Sharnjit Kohli, H.S. Bhullar, Gurvinder Singh and Pushpinder Kaur had been appointed judges by the IWHF, Mr Grewal informed.

The winners would receive a cash prize of Rs 15,000 while the runners-up would get a cash prize of Rs 10,000. A cash prize of Rs 5,000 would be given to the best player of the tournament whereas a cash prize of Rs 1,000 each would be given to the best goalkeeper, best full back and the best forward of the torunament.

On the concluding day, Mr Chander Shekhar, senior vice-president, Indian Hockey Federation, would be honoured on his promotion as the ADGP, Punjab, and his contribution for the uplift of hockey in the country.

The MPSG Trust would also felicitate Mr Iqbal Singh, former national hockey player and general secretary, Surjit Hockey Society, Jalandhar, and Dr Jagwinder Singh Grewal, PCS officer , for their contribution in the field of hockey.

Mr Mohinder Singh Kaypee, Minister for Technical Education and Industrial Training, Punjab, would inaugurate the tournament on March 8 at 12. 30 pm, while Dr Kirpal Singh Aulakh, Vice-Chancellor, PAU, would preside over the inaugural function.

Mr Tej Parkash Singh, Minister for Transport , would be the chief guest on the concluding day while Mr P.S. Pruthi, Commissioner, Central Excise, and Mr Ashok Singh Garcha, Chairman, Ludhiana Improvement Trust, would be the guests of honour on the occasion, Mr Grewal said.



Jaspreet bags 2 titles
Our Sports Reporter

Jaspreet Kaur, who won the 100m as well as the javelin throw events in the sports meet of SRS Polytechnic, Rishi Nagar
Jaspreet Kaur, who won the 100m as well as the javelin throw events in the sports meet of SRS Polytechnic, Rishi Nagar, Ludhiana on Friday. Tribune photo

Ludhiana, March 6
Jaspreet Kaur, a student of computer education (final year), won the 100m race to emerge the fastest runner in the eighth annual athletics meet of the Sat Guru Ram Singh Polytechnic for Women, Rishi Nagar, which concluded yesterday. Jaspreet bagged the javelin throw title too.

Dr S.N. Tewari, Civil Surgeon, gave away the prizes to the winners. Ms Sushila Mahajan, Chairperson, Technical Education Board, Punjab, was present on the occasion.

Results: high jump: Monisha first, Gagandeep Kaur second, Mandeep Kaur third; 100 m: Jaspreet Kaur first, Harpreet Kaur second, Usha Rani third; javelin throw: Jaspreet Kaur first, Mandeep Kaur second, Baljinder Kaur third; slow-cycling race: Davinder Kaur first, Gagandeep Kaur second, Rupinder Kaur third; 200 m: Harpreet Kaur first, Harsaroop Kaur second, Adeshpal Kaur third; discus throw: Mandeep Kaur first, Hansdeep Kaur second, Navdeep Kaur third; 800 m: Usha first, Navdeep Kaur second, Supinder Kaur third; Matka race: Monika first, Usha second, Monisha third; 4x100 m relay race: ECE first, computer education second, GMT third; staff race: Madan Lal first, Davinder Kumar second, Reetvinder Singh third; musical chairs: Ruchi Talwar first, Sonia Gulati second, and Navjot Kaur third.


HOME PAGE | Punjab | Haryana | Jammu & Kashmir | Himachal Pradesh | Regional Briefs | Nation | Opinions |
| Business | Sports | World | Mailbag | Chandigarh | Ludhiana | National Capital |
| Calendar | Weather | Archive | Subscribe | Suggestion | E-mail |