C H A N D I G A R H   S T O R I E S


Future Nightingales take pledge
Tribune News Service

Mohali, April 24
Students of Fortis School of Nursing were formally initiated into the profession today. A special initiation ceremony was organised at the institute during which the nurses took the Nightingale’s pledge.

The function began with the ceremonial lighting of the lamp the significance of which was explained by senior tutor Mrs Girja. Following this the nurses were administered oath by tutors Mrs Lalu Mathews and Mrs Robin Berry. The Fortis school song was also sung by the students.

Mr. K. K. Bhatnagar, Principal Secretary Technical Education, Punjab, who was the chief guest, emphasised the importance of the nurses’ profession. ‘‘A nurse is a primary person who comforts the patient throughout the treatment period and helps the patient go through the highs and lows during the process. Often, nurses symbolise hope,’’ he said.

Mr. Shivinder Mohan Singh, joint managing director, Fortis Healthcare Limited, said that the Fortis School of Nursing was set up to cater to the growing demand for the Indian nurses, especially in the UK and the A US healthcare sectors. ‘‘We are confident that the level of education imparted to this batch of nurses at Fortis will help them operate in hospitals both at a national level as well as at the international level,’’ he said.



St Kabir win chess tourney
Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, April 24
St Kabir Public School won the overall trophy in the fourth ICSE inter-school chess tournament at Tender Heart School, Sector 33-B, here today.

The nine participating schools were: St. Stephen’s High School, St. Kabir Public School, St. Xavier’s Senior Secondary School, St. Xavier’s, Panchkula, DAV School, Dera Bassi, Carmel Convent, Nahan, Saupin’s School, Panchkula, Little Flower Convent School, Panchkula and Tender Heart School.

Wrestling meet

Sub-Junior and Junior Chandigarh State Wrestling Championship was organised by the Chandigarh UT Wrestling Association today. More than 150 participants took part in the championship. The championship was inaugurated by Dr M.S. Chopra, Senior vice-president of the association.

Results: Juniors: 55 kg: 1 Kamal b Anil by Point, 2 Rajesh b. Vikram by fall, 3 Ashwani b Surinder by fall.

60 kg: 1 Narinder b Vivender by fall, 2 Sandeep b. Mohinder by fall, 3 Sarwan b. Hardeep by point, 4 Kuldeep b Virender by fall.

66 kg: Jaideep b. Satish by fall, 2. Sher Singh b Surinder by point.

74 kg: 1 Jaiveer b. Naresh by point.

84 kg: 1 Vinod Kumar b Bijender by fall, 2 Sushil b Rajbir by point.

96 kg: 1 Vinod Kumar b Yoginder by fall.

+ 96kg : 1 Lalit b Satinder by point, 2. Ajit b. Jagmit by fall.

Sub-Junior: 42 kg: 1 Sachin b. Navin by fall, 2 Amit b. Manoj by fall, Ajit b. Aman by fall.

46 kg: 1 Vipin b Surinder by point, 2 Varinder b. Ajit by fall.

50 kg: 1. Sumit b Vishal by point, 2 Kuldeep b. Madan by fall, 3 Parveen b Sony by fall, 4 Deepak b Vinod by point.

54 kg: 1 Sombir b Kamal Kant by fall, 2 Manoj b Inderjeet by point, Gopal b. Surjit by fall, 4 Vinod b. Sunil by fall.

58 kg: 1 Jaibir b. Bajinder by fall, 2. Ashok b. Hardeep by point, 3. Kuldeep b. Deepak by point.


HOME PAGE | Punjab | Haryana | Jammu & Kashmir | Himachal Pradesh | Regional Briefs | Nation | Opinions |
| Business | Sports | World | Mailbag | Chandigarh | Ludhiana | National Capital |
| Calendar | Weather | Archive | Subscribe | Suggestion | E-mail |