R E G I O N A L   B R I E F S


Undertrial dies
: An undertrial lodged in the Central Jail for the past three months died reportedly of heart attack in the jail premises here on Friday. Ashok Kumar, a resident of Nakodar, was arrested by the Nakodar police. The body has been sent for postmortem.

Appointment: The Vice-President of the District Congress Committee (DCC-I), Mr Sanjay Sehgal, has been appointed as the Chairman of the Media and Complaint Redressal Cell of the DCC. Mr Sehgal has also been working for improvement of environment in Jalandhar city. 

Farewell function:
The Frankfinn Institute of Airhostess Training, Ludhiana, organised a farewell function for two of its students, Harshmir and Manish, on Thursday. They were felicitated on their being selected by Qatar Airways as flight stewards during in a campus interview. They will be getting around Rs 80,000 per month each. 

Food festival: Awadhi Food Festival started at Majestic Park Plaza, Lodi Ruwayat, on Friday. It will go on till May 28. A large number of Awadhi dishes prepared by chef Abdul Haleem Quershi have been made available in the festival. 

Dead: Mr Jaswinder Singh, son of Mr Surjit Singh Ahluwalia, former senior Deputy Mayor of the Ludhiana Municipal Corporation, expired yesterday following cardiac arrest. His cremation will take place tomorrow at 10.30am at Civil Lines crematorium. He was 47.

course launched: The JD Institute of Technology has launched a new course in apparel merchandising and production management from new session. The one-year course will train students in merchandising, production methods and retailing. The Institute has entered tie-ups with various manufacturing, dyeing and painting units for training of the students and for future placements. 

Farewell party: The BBA and BCA students of the Guru Nanak Institute of Management and Technology, Gujarkhan Campus, Model Town, Ludhiana, bid farewell to their seniors at a party on Thursday evening aptly named as Fragrant Reminiscences-2006. A cultural show marked the evening as the juniors put together a potpourri of items for their seniors. Swati Mehta was adjudged Ms Farewell and Ramandeep Singh won the title of Mr Farewell. Chanpreet Kaur and Sumit Singh were declared first runners-up while Munisha and Jagdeep Singh were the second runners-up.

Prize distribution: The annual prize distribution function of Lal Chand Bhatia High School, Haibokalan, was held on Thursday. The chief guests on the occasion were Mr Satish Sharma (Secretary, PPCC), Mr Gagan Pal Sharma (Chairman of the BBN Group of Industries), Ms Pushpa Sahni and Mr Ashwani Handa. The first three rank holders from each class were given awards. Four students of class V, Shikha, Neena, Aarti and Aman, who obtained more than 80 per cent marks were given special awards. The Principal, Ms Bhatia, read out the annual report.




ELECTED: The following have been elected office-bearers of the CITCO Worker’s Union: president- Mr Yashwant Singh; senior vice presidents- Mr Prem Lal and Mr Pradeep Sharma; vice presidents - Mr Kuldeep Singh, Mr Dhiraj, Mr Umesh Dixit and Mr Mathura Dutt; general secretary- Mr Baldev raj; secretary- Mr Surinder Singh; joint secretary- Mr Rupesh; and treasurer- Mr Ashwani Kumar.

MEETING: Mr Sukhbir Singh Badal, founder of the Student Organisation of India, visited Panjab University campus and held a meeting with the office bearers. Those present on the occasion included saravdeep Singh, Rajeet Singh, Pardeep Singh and Harbhagwan Sandy, besides others. The agenda includes establishment of a general body of the SOI and equal representation to girl students in the body.

Blood donation camp: A blood donation Camp was organized by State Bank Learning Centre, Panchkula. The camp was inaugurated by Ms. Usha Nair, Deputy General Manager and CDO, local head office, Chandigarh. As many as 31 Probationary Officers who have recently joined the Bank, other officials on training and staff members donated blood on the occasion. Ms Nair motivated the blood donors and also encouraged them for good work done. 

OFFICE-BEARERS: The following have been elected office-bearers of the Shree Satguru Bawa Lal Dayal Sankirtan Mandal, Sector 40-A, Chandigarh: president — Mr R.K. Trehan; senior vice-president — Mr P.K. Lakhanpal; vice-president — Mr K.S. Kharbanda; general secretary — Mr R.K. Janak; joint secretary — Mr S.K. Bhandari; cashier — Mr L.C. Puri; auditor — Mr Surinder Handa; accountant — Mr Ashwani Mahajan; langar in charge and manager — Mr Ashok Gupta; construction engineer — Mr R.K. Sharma; construction in charge — Mr S.P. Tulli; adviser — Mr I.C. Gulati; and mandir administration manager — Mr Subhash Mahajan.


HOME PAGE | Punjab | Haryana | Jammu & Kashmir | Himachal Pradesh | Regional Briefs | Nation | Opinions |
| Business | Sports | World | Mailbag | Chandigarh | Ludhiana | Delhi |
| Calendar | Weather | Archive | Subscribe | Suggestion | E-mail |