Saturday, October 21, 2000,
Chandigarh, India


M A I N   N E W S

Bhuppi group sweeps PU students’ poll
Tribune News Service

CHANDIGARH, Oct 20 — The Panjab University Students Union Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad-Haryana Students Association alliance made a clean sweep of the elections to the Panjab University Campus Students Council here today.

Mr Bhupinder Singh Bhuppi has been elected chairman of the council, defeating Mr Bhupinder Beniwal of the Students Organisation of Panjab University (SOPU) panel. Ms Mukta Sharma was elected vice-president, Mr Vivek Chauhan general secretary, and Mr Harpreet Singh joint secretary.

Mr Bhuppi secured 1,914 votes against 1,570 by Mr Beniwal, Ms Sharma got 1,875 votes against 1,601 by Ms Pooja and Mr Chauhan polled 1,820 votes against Mr Harmeet Singh’s 1637, Mr Harpreet Singh was elected joint secretary with 1,879 votes against 1,591 polled by Mr Jagtaran Singh of the SOPU panel.

Bhuppi who led with a margin of 344 votes assured his supporters that he would fight for causes which had not received adequate attention from the university authorities.

Mr Dayal Pratap Singh Randhawa, former president of the SOPU, accepted his defeat at the verdict of the students.” We will continue to work for the students causes as usual,” he said.

Mr Vijay Chauhan (Political Science), Mr Ruchi Roy (English), Mr Jaswant Singh (Ancient History and Culture), Mr Nitin Verma (UBS) and Mr Vipinjit Singh (Anthropology) have been elected member of the executive. Sources said at least 16 DRs (SOPU supporters) boy-cotted the election to the executive council.

The presidential contest recorded 29 invalid votes, the vice-presidential 36, for general secretary’s post 56 and for the post of the joint secretary 42 votes were invalid.

The election results were declared by afternoon. Processions to girls hostels followed, mainly to thank the voters. The PUSU-ABVP-HSA panel had supporters dancing to beat of a ‘dhol’ to celebrate their victory. An equally large gathering of SOPU supporters went on a round of the girls hostels to thank the voters.

Mr Munish Anand, a former president of the council, thanked the supporters. Mr Lakhjit Singh, PUSU president, and Mr Surat Negi chairman of the ABVP, accompanied the victory procession. They talked about issues which needed immediate attention of the council.

Mr Chand Singh Madaan, chairman of the HSA, said, “Despite losing twice, we continued working at the ground level. Agitations against various anti-student moves were also held.

The new body will assume office by Monday.

Home | Punjab | Haryana | Jammu & Kashmir | Himachal Pradesh | Regional Briefs | Nation | Editorial |
Business | Sport | World | Mailbag | In Spotlight | Chandigarh Tribune | Ludhiana Tribune
50 years of Independence | Tercentenary Celebrations |
120 Years of Trust | Calendar | Weather | Archive | Subscribe | Suggestion | E-mail |