Wednesday, August 20, 2003, Chandigarh, India


N C R   S T O R I E S


Delhi Audit derail DTC 
Our Sports Reporter

New Delhi, August 19
Delhi Audit defeated Delhi Transport Corporation (DTC) 3-1 in the Delhi State Hockey League for Institutions at the Shivaji Stadium on Tuesday.
Sanjeev Sharma opened the account for Delhi Audit in the 10th minute and Jagminder Singh added the second goal in the 20th minute as Audit led by 2-0 at half time. Deepak came up with the third goal for the winners while P P Singh pulled off a consolation goal for DTC.

State Bank of India routed IPGCL 5-1 in the second match.

The first half was contested on equal terms as after Arun scored the first goal for State Bank, IPGCL pulled off the equaliser. But in the second session, State Bank went on a scoring spree with Jaswant Singh, Arun, Dinesh Negi and Deepak Bhalla scoring the goals.

Delhi Police whipped Customs and Excise 6-2 in the third match. The cops led by 2-0 at half time. The highlight of the match was a hattrick by Prem Chand, who scored the fourth, fifth and sixth goals. Iswar Das (2) and Subhash were the other marksmen. Rohit Chander and Shankar Dev slotted home the goals for Customs. There will be no match on Wednesday.



Youngmen record second victory

New Delhi, August 19
Youngmen recorded their second successive victory when they prevailed over Indian Air Force, Palam by a solitary goal in a Super Six league match of the Delhi Soccer Association-SAIL A Division Football League Championship at the Ambedkar Stadium on Tuesday.

Medio Vivek Sharma scored the match-winner with a long-range shot from 25 yards out.

Hans Club stunned Garhwal Heroes 2-0 in the second match.

Garhwal Heroes dominated the match almost throughout but wasted their scoring chances, and to their mortification, the custodian committed a costly lapse which enabled Asish of Hans put the ball into the net.

Before the din could die down, Asish scored the second goal for Hans to garner full points. Wednesday’s fixture: Youngmen vs Hans (4.30 pm)—Ambedkar Stadium.

Delhi soccer league: Sixteen top clubs of the Capital will compete in the Delhi Soccer Association Football League Championship, starting at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium practice ground on Tuesday with a Group A match between Hindustan Club and Raisina Sporting at 2.30 pm.

Moonlight will take on Shahdara in the second match at 4.30 pm. The teams have been divided into two groups of eight teams each. Group A comprises Hindustan, Moonlight, Delhi Police, Indian National, Goans, Simla Youngs, Shahdara and Raisina Sporting. Group B is composed of Indian Air Force, N D Heroes, City Club, Mughals, Tarun Sangha, Shastri Club, B B Stars and Collegians.

The top five teams from both the groups will qualify for the Super League. The bottom two teams will be relegated to the A Division. OSR


Home | Punjab | Haryana | Jammu & Kashmir | Himachal Pradesh | Regional Briefs | Nation | Editorial |
Business | Sport | World | Mailbag | Chandigarh Tribune | Ludhiana Tribune
50 years of Independence | Tercentenary Celebrations |
123 Years of Trust | Calendar | Weather | Archive | Subscribe | Suggestion | E-mail |