R E G I O N A L   B R I E F S


LIONS CLUB: The following have been office-bearers of the Lions Club (Greater): president — Mr Naval Aggarwal; vice-presidents — Mr Narinder Pal Singh and Mr Rakesh Sharma; secretary — Mr Narinder Mahant and treasurer — Mr Inder Singh Nagpal.

ELECTED: The following have been elected office-bearers of the Batala Chemists Association: president — Mr Rakesh Kumar Rampal; senior vice-president — Mr S.K. Rana; vice-presidents — Mr Vikram Singh Kalsi, Mr Sajan Seth and Mr Prem Kumar Mahajan; general secretary — Mr Sanjeev Kotach; and treasurer — Mr Ravikant Sharma.

CASE REGISTERED: On the complaint of Bhulla Singh of Talwandi Jattan village the Tanda police on Saturday registered a case under Sections 420 and 406 of the IPC against Manjit Singh and his father Gulzara Singh. In his complaint Bhulla Singh alleged that Manjit Singh was going to the USA on a duplicate passport.

ARRESTED: The Dasuya police on Saturday arrested Joginder Singh son of Ram Singh of Sikri village at a naka near Safdarpur. The police seized Rs 66,000 and $ 21 of hawala money from him. A case under Sections 420, 489 A, 439 B and 439 C of the IPC and Sections 13-19, 5-6 of Foreign Exchange Act 1973 has been registered.

CASE REGISTERED: On a complaint of Jai Singh of Dhamia Kalan, the Hariana police on Friday registered a case under Sections 420, 120-B of the IPC against Jaswant Singh, alias Chur Singh, Harbans Kaur, sarpanch, Resham Singh, panch, and Sewa Dass, numbardar of Pajodeota village. In his complaint Jai Singh had alleged that the accused had fraudulently mortgaged his land with Co-operative Agriculture Bank and took a loan of Rs 80,000.

SELECTED: The Rural Development Ministry has selected the Mahilpur block under the Integrated Waste Land Development Programme. Mr D.K. Tiwari, Deputy Commissioner, in a press release here on Friday said Rs 3.72 crore would be spent for the development of villages of this block.

DEMOLITION DRIVE: The Deputy Commissioner, Mr Krishan Kumar, is taking keen interest in removing encroachments, with a view to ensuring smooth flow of traffic on the main roads of the town. Residents have appreciated the drive and have demanded that it should not only be confined to the main road only.

APPOINTED: Mr Sanjiv Chug of Banga has been made president of the district unit of the Bhartiya Janata Yuva Morcha (BJYM) by Mr Sanjiv Talwar, state vice-president of the morcha. He has been authorised to constitute his team.

INSTALLED: The following have been installed office-bearers of the Rotary Club: president — Mr Satinder Singh Walia; secretary — Dr Munish Goel.

CAMPAIGN: A mass awareness campaign on diabetes was launched here on Sunday by prominent eye surgeon of the region Dr K.D. Singh. Ashok Sharma local MLA, and Lion Satish Mohindru District Governor-elect, were the chief guests.

Tarn Taran
SEMINAR: Fortis Hospital organised a “joint problem awareness seminar” here on Saturday Mr Birpal Singh, SDM, was the chief guest.



SENTENCED: The court of the Additional District Judge, Mr Subhash Goel, here has sentenced two poppy husk smugglers to 10-year rigorous imprisonment and fined them Rs 1 lakh each. The court further ordered that in case the convicts failed to pay the fine they would have to undergo further imprisonment of one year each. the accused were Nishan Singh of Dera Bagga, Kharkan and Randhir Singh of Sair village.

TRAINING CAMPS: New teaching methods under the Sarv Shiksha Abhiyan (SSA) were imported to about 2,831 teachers during the summer vacation at special training camps. Mr R.C. Verma, Additional Deputy Commissioner and Chairman of the SSA, said here on Saturday that some important matters, including girls’ education and education to SC/ST children, computer education, drop-out students and those remaining out of schools, were reviewed. He also said the first instalment of Rs 1 lakh to 13 model schools for construction of rooms in Kaithal, Kalayat and Rajound had been released.

RE-ELECTED: Col Manbir Choudhary (retd), Managing Director of Hotel Jewels, Karnal, was unanimously elected President of the Hotel and Restaurant Association of Haryana for the fifth consecutive term in an election of the state body held here, on Saturday. The other office-bearers are: senior vice-president — R.S. Bhatia; vice-president — R.P. Sehgal; honorary treasurer — Rakesh Gupta; joint honorary Treasurer GBS Sehgal; honorary secretary — Virender Sharma; and joint honorary secretary — Praveen Nadwani.

INJURED: A property dealer was injured and robbed of Rs 50,000 in an attack by motor-cycle borne robbers in the Rajiv Puram area here on Friday. He was rushed to the local Civil Hospital. The police has registered a case. 



ELECTED: The following have been elected office-bearers of the Himachal Pradesh Forest Department Ministerial Employees Association: president — Mr Nripjeet Singh Thakur; senior vice-president — Mr B.B. Singh Sunta, vice-president — Mr Balvinder Sharma; general secretary — Mr Parveen Kumar, joint secretary — Mr Roshan Lal; organising secretary — Mr Joginder Verma; publicity secretary — Mr Romesh Kumar, finance secretary — Mr Jiwan Lal; and office secretary — Mr Kamal Kumar.


HOME PAGE | Punjab | Haryana | Jammu & Kashmir | Himachal Pradesh | Regional Briefs | Nation | Opinions |
| Business | Sports | World | Mailbag | Chandigarh | Ludhiana | Delhi |
| Calendar | Weather | Archive | Subscribe | Suggestion | E-mail |