M A I N   N E W S

12 trains go into North India’s kitty
Tribune News Service

New Delhi, February 12
The Railway Minister announced 12 new premium and express trains for the northern region in his interim Railway Budget today.

The premium trains include: Bandra-Amritsar Express (weekly) via Kota, New Delhi, Ambala; Bandra (T)-Katra Express (weekly) via Kota, New Delhi, Ambala; Katra-Howrah Express (weekly) via Mughalsarai, Varanasi, Saharanpur; and Yesvantpur-Katra Express (weekly) via Gulbarga, Kacheguda, Nagpur, New Delhi.

Two express trains have also been announced from Chandigarh. These are: Jaipur-Chandigarh Inter-city (daily) via Jhajjar; and Ramnagar-Chandigarh Express (weekly) via Moradabad, Saharanpur.

The express trains linking Jammu and Kashmir include: Ahmedabad-Katra (weekly) via Palampur, Jaipur, Rewari, Hisar, Bathinda, Amritsar; Kota-Jammu Tawi Express (weekly) via New Delhi, Ambala; and Sriganganagar-Jammu Tawi Express (weekly) via Abohar, Bathinda, Dhuri.

The Amritsar-Gorakhpur Express (weekly) via Saharanpur, Moradabad, Sitapur Cantt, will originate from Amritsar. Besides, a Delhi-Rohtak Passenger MEMU (daily two services) and a Rewari-Rohtak (daily) DEMU have been introduced. The Udhampur-Katra section under the much-touted “Kashmir Rail Project” had been completed and will be opened soon, Railway Minister Mallikarjun Kharge said. This will enable a large number of pilgrims from across the country to visit the Vaishno Devi shrine.

The minister said specially designed coaches for adverse weather conditions had been inducted for rail travel in the Valley.

The wagons are corrosion resistant with capacity to carry extra payload.

Premium trains

  • Bandra-Amritsar Express (weekly) via Ambala
  • Bandra (T)-Katra Express (weekly) via Ambala
  • Katra-Howrah Express (weekly) via Saharanpur
  • Yesvantpur-Katra Express (weekly) via New Delhi

Express trains

  • Jaipur-Chandigarh Inter-city (daily) via Jhajjar
  • Ramnagar-Chandigarh Express (weekly) via Saharanpur
  • Ahmedabad-Katra (weekly) via Bathinda
  • Kota-Jammu Tawi Express (weekly) via Ambala
  • Sriganganagar-Jammu Tawi Express (weekly) via Bathinda
  • Amritsar-Gorakhpur Express (weekly) via Saharanpur.





HOME PAGE | Punjab | Haryana | Jammu & Kashmir | Himachal Pradesh | Regional Briefs | Nation | Opinions |
| Business | Sports | World | Letters | Chandigarh | Ludhiana | Delhi |
| Calendar | Weather | Archive | Subscribe | E-mail |