Several crorepatis in fray for Chandigarh municipal polls

79 file nomination papers for December 24 poll

Several crorepatis in fray for Chandigarh municipal polls

Mayor Ravi Kant Sharma of the BJP on the way to file his papers. Pradeep Tewari

Sandeep Rana

Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, December 3

There are several crorepatis among BJP, AAP and Congress candidates who filed their nominations for the December 24 MC elections today.

Aam Aadmi Party’s MC election campaign chairman Chandermukhi Sharma, who filed nomination papers from ward number 13 with the Election Commission, has Rs87-lakh moveable assets and Rs2.24-crore immovable assets. His spouse, who is into event management and astrology, has moveable assets of Rs93 lakh. Advocate Sharma has earlier been a councillor from the Congress.

Though Anju Katyal of AAP, who filed her nomination from ward number 22 today, has moveable asset of Rs26 lakh, her husband Satish Katyal has a whopping Rs8.06-crore moveable assets and Rs1.50-crore immovable assets.

Former Deputy Mayor Harmohinder Singh Lucky, who filed his nomination from the Congress from ward number 2, has immovable asset of Rs8.85 crore and moveable assets of Rs87.90 lakh.

AAP candidate Jasbir Singh Laddi (Ward No. 21) comes on a motorcycle to file his nomination in Chandigarh on Friday. Tribune photo: Vicky

Mayor Ravi Kant Sharma, who filed his nomination from the BJP from ward number 17, has shown Rs1.47-crore immoveable assets and Rs21-lakh moveable assets.

His wife has Rs35-lakh immoveable and Rs26-lakh movable assets. City SAD president Hardeep Singh, who is contesting from ward number 30, has immoveable assets of Rs22 lakh and immovable assets of Rs1.81 crore.

Congress candidate Jannat Jahan, along with Punjab leader Raj Kumar Verka, before filing her papers in Chandigarh on Friday. Tribune photo: Vicky

Congress candidate from ward no. 4 Jannat Jahan, a business woman, has Rs 1.33- crore moveable and Rs25- lakh immovable assets.

Last date for filing of papers today

A total of 79 candidates have filed their nomination papers with the Election Commission. The last date for filing of nominations is December 4. Not everyone’s affidavit of nomination papers could be accessed.

Among others, BJP candidates Ravi Kant Sharma (Mayor), Anup Gupta (ward 11) and sitting councillor Dalip Sharma (ward 3) filed their nominations. From AAP, Chandermukhi Sharma (ward 13), Anju Katyal (ward 22), Poonam Kumari (ward 16), Ramchander Yadav (ward 15), Jasbir Singh Ladi (ward 21), Kuldeep Kukki (ward 14) and Vikram Singh Pundir (ward 30) filed their nominations. Among Congress candidates, Harmohinder Singh Lucky (ward 2), former councillor Jannat Jahan (ward 4), sitting councillor Ravinder Kaur Gujral (ward 23) and Gurpreet Singh Gabi (ward 34) filed their papers. Independents such as Sushila Pathak are also trying their luck from ward number 10.

Tribune Shorts


View All