Gurmannat powers into pre-quarters

Beats Driti 6-0 6-0 in 1st round | Arjun blanks Satvik | Chaitanya upsets Damanpreet

Gurmannat powers into pre-quarters

Anirudh Sangra in action against Arnav Bishnoi during their opening round match in the CLTA-AITA Championship Series in Chandigarh on Monday. tribune photos: manoj mahajan

Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, February 3

Gurmannat Kaur Sandhu outclassed Driti to qualify for the girls’ U-16 pre-quarterfinals in the ongoing CLTA-AITA Championship Series (CS-7) Tennis Tournament here today. Gurmannat won 6-0 6-0.

Rubani Kaur Sidhu outplayed Sehaj 6-2 6-2, while Anandita Sharma registered a 7-6(2) 6-1 win over Mehakpreet Kaur in the opening round.

Mehakpreet though managed to beat Simar Atwal in the girls’ U-18 opening round. Mehakpreet lost the first set 4-6, but came back strongly to win the next two sets 6-2 7-5 and move into the last-16.

Arjun, Gaurav advance

In the boys’ U-18 competition, Arjun Jitender Abyankar blanked Satvik Singla 6-0 6-0 in the first round. Gaurav Kumar overcame Rakshit Dhankar 7-5 6-7(1) 6-1, while Arnav Malik rallied from a set down to beat Aarush Sharma 3-6 6-4 6-3.

Navya Verma had an easy first round outing as he thrashed Arnav Bishnoi 6-1 6-0. Eighth seed Sarthak Arora edged out Prateek Saroha 6-4 6-1, while Anirudh Sangra ousted Paras Verma to move into the next round. Sangra won 6-0 6-1.

Amish Bansal registered a 6-2 6-0 win over Rajdeep Singh, while Manjot Singh Ahuja dismissed Anant Goyal 6-3 6-0 in the first round.

Chaitanya cruises

Chaitanya Bansal upset 6th seed Damanpreet Singh 6-0 6-3 in the boys’ U-16 first round. Aditya Bhatnagar downed qualifier Yash Solanki 7-6(4) 7-5, while Adik Sharma registered a 6-2 6-0 win over Aarya Vaibhav Nigma.

Anirudh Sangra stunned 8th seed Arnav Bishnoi 6-2 6-1, while Satvik Singla came from behind to beat Sabya Sachi in the opening round. Singla lost the first set 4-6, but bounced back to win the next two sets 6-4 6-2 and seal a place in the pre-quarterfinals.

Tarun Sharma prevailed 6-1 6-0 over Prabir Singh and seventh seed Rakshit Dhankar trounced Jashandeep Singh 6-1 6-0.

Karen Singh survived an intense opening round battle against Paras Verma. He won 7-5 6-7(6) 6-2. Shivam Wadhawan defeated Iren Singh 6-2 6-3 and Shraey Vir outplayed Madhav Aggarwal 6-2 6-1.

Darshan Dilbar Singh registered a convincing 6-1 6-1 win over Aryan Jolly in the opening round.

The singles and doubles pre-quarterfinal matches will be played on Tuesday.

Opening round results

Boys’ U-18: Arjun Jitender Abyankar bt Satvik Singla 6-0 6-0, Gaurav Kumar bt Rakshit Dhankar 7-5 6-7(1) 6-1, Arnav Malik bt Aarush Sharma 3-6 6-4 6-3, Navya Verma bt Arnav Bishnoi 6-1 6-0, Sarthak Arora bt Prateek Saroha 6-4 6-1, Anirudh Sangra bt Paras Verma 6-0 6-1, Amish Bansal bt Rajdeep Singh 6-2 6-0, Manjot Singh Ahuja bt Anant Goyal 6-3 6-0

Boys’ U-16: Aditya Bhatnagar bt Yash Solanki 7-6(4) 7-5, Adik Sharma bt Aarya Vaibhav Nigma 6-2 6-0, Anirudh Sangra bt Arnav Bishnoi 6-2 6-1, Satvik Singla bt Sabya Sachi 4-6 6-4 6-2, Tarun Sharma bt Prabir Singh 6-1 6-0, Chaitanya Bansal bt Damanpreet Singh 6-0 6-3, Rakshit Dhankar bt Jashandeep Singh 6-1 6-0, Karen Singh bt Paras Verma 7-5 6-7(6) 6-2, Shivam Wadhawan bt Iren Singh 6-2 6-3, Shraey Vir bt Madhav Aggarwal 6-2 6-1, Darshan Dilbar Singh bt Aryan Jolly 6-1 6-1

Girls’ U-18: Mehakpreet Kaur bt Simar Atwal 4-6 6-2 7-5

Girls’ U-16: Gurmannat Kaur Sandhu bt Driti 6-0 6-0, Rubani Kaur Sidhu bt Sehaj 6-2 6-2, Anandita Sharma bt Mehakpreet Kaur 7-6(2) 6-1

Tribune Shorts


View All