2 AAP MLAs quit party

2 AAP MLAs quit party

AAP leader Adarsh Shastri (C) has joined Congress. Photo: Mukesh Aggarwal

New Delhi, January 18

In a setback to the AAP, two of its MLAs, Adarsh Shastri (Dwarka) and Jagdeep Singh (Hari Nagar), quit the party after they were denied ticket for the February 8 Delhi Assembly election with one of them joining the Congress on Saturday.

While Shastri joined the Congress on Saturday, Singh said he was in talks with the Shiromani Akali Dal. Badarpur MLA ND Sharma, who quit the AAP earlier this month, said on Saturday that he has joined the BSP. Both Shahtri and Sharma are likely to be fielded from their respective seat by their new party.

The three leaders were among the 15 members of the outgoing Assembly who were denied ticket ticket by the AAP this time. Shastri alleged that the party was "selling" tickets and accused Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal of acting in an autocratic manner.

Countering Shastri's allegations, another AAP leader said that when tickets are denied, people make such claims. — PTI


View All

Junior doctors, nurses in Amritsar confront Cabinet Minister OP Soni

Say seniors staying away from patients, nurses want proper a...

Jan Dhan a/c holders in Amritsar queue up outside banks

Not caring two hoots about social distancing, women come out...

A blessing in disguise for author Dev Dard

Says he has finally found time to maintain galleries of hist...

Seven more catch virus in Mohali district

All from Jawaharpur; district count 26, highest in Punjab

Chandigarh Administration makes mask must for residents at public places

To be deferred — water & power charges, rent of units in reh...

Don’t have PPE? Wear raincoat, Chandigarh cops told

SSP Jagadale’s order comes after curfew violations reported ...