Downed Mi-17 pilots awarded for gallantry

Downed Mi-17 pilots awarded for gallantry

New Delhi, January 25

The President has approved award of 409 Gallantry and other Defence decorations to armed forces personnel and others on the eve of 71st Republic Day celebrations. These include nine Shaurya Chakras, the third highest peace-time gallantry award.

Read also

Of the nine, six have been conferred on Army personnel, while three are from Central police organisations under the Ministry of Home Affairs.

Shaurya Chakra for 6 Army personnel

  • Naib Subedar Narender Singh of Parachute Regiment for foiling infiltration bid
  • Lt Col Jyoti Lama of 11 Gorkha Rifles for intelligence network in Manipur, leading to arrest of 14 terrorists

  • Major K Bijendra Singh of Army Air Defence for eliminating two militants

  • Martyr Naib Subedar Sombir of Jat Regiment for eliminating 3 J&K militants

  • Naik Naresh Kumar of J&K Light Infantry for his role in eliminating a terrorist in J&K

  • Sepoy Karmdeo Oraon of Infantry Battalion for eliminating two terrorists

  • Padma Shri for Karan Johar, Kangana Ranaut & Adnan Sami

The two Indian Air Force pilots, Squadron Leader Ninad Anil Mandavgane and Squadron Leader Siddharth Vashisht, who went down in an Mi-17 helicopter crash on February 27, have been awarded Vayu Medal (Gallantry). Their helicopter was hit by own missile while India and Pakistan were locked in an air duel. On August 14, Vir Chakra was announced for Wing Commander Abhinandan Varthaman.

Vayu Sena Medals have been announced for Wing Commander Amit Ranjan, Squadron Leaders Rahul Basoya, Pankaj Bhujade, BKN Reddy and Shashank Singh, all part of the airstrike team on February 26. Four persons have been awarded Bar to Sena Medals (Gallantry).