Cabinet nod to metro connectivity from HUDA City Centre to Gurugram’s Cyber City : The Tribune India

Cabinet nod to metro connectivity from HUDA City Centre to Gurugram’s Cyber City

The new line will cover 28.50 kilometres and have 27 stations on the route

Cabinet nod to metro connectivity from HUDA City Centre to Gurugram’s Cyber City

Photo used for representational purpose only. iStock

Tribune News Service

Sumedha Sharma

Tribune News Service

Gurugram, June 7

Gurugram is all set to get its first extension of existing metro line in a decade. Currently concluding at Huda City metro station, the DMRC line would now go upto Cyber Hub covering 27 different stations along with a spur line to Dwarka Expressway.

The Union cabinet today granted approval for the extension of metro connectivity from HUDA City Centre to Cyber City in Gurugram.

According to union minister Piyush Goyal, the proposed expansion will span a distance of 28.50km and total cost of the project will be around Rs 5,450 crore. It is also expected to generate employment of around 17 lakhs, according to Union Cabinet.

The entire project will be elevated and have a spur (side line) from Basai village for connectivity to the depot. The main line from Huda City Centre to CyberHub, passing through Subash Chowk, Hero Honda Chowk, and Palam Vihar, will span 26.65km, while the spur from Basai village to Dwarka Expressway will be 1.85km long.

The project is proposed to be completed in four years from the date of its sanction and will be implemented by Haryana Mass Rapid Transport Corporation Limited (HMRTC).

HMRTC will be set up as a 50:50 special purpose vehicle (SPV) of the Central and Haryana governments after a sanction order is issued.

The new metro line is long awaited and will bridge the gap run between New Gurugram with Old Gurugram having a total of 27 stations which will connect with the railway station, with an objective to link it with the Indira Gandhi International airport. The Gurugram Metro stopped inexplicably at Huda City Centre for a decade. Politics, decision-making sloth and administrative inefficiency marred its march — even as Noida Metro raced ahead ambitiously, adding new stops, connecting Greater Noida and planning two more phases. While a project was drawn almost five years ago but it kept on changing over the route. 

The final metro route will include Sector 45, Cyber Park, Sector 46, Sector 47, Sector 48, Technology Park, Udyog Vihar Phase 6, Sector 10, Sector 37, Basai, Sector 9, Sector 7, Sector 4, Sector 5, Ashok Vihar, Sector 3, Krishna Chowk, Palam Vihar Extension, Palam Vihar, Sector 23 A, Sector 22, Udyog Vihar Phase 4, and CyberHub.

The Haryana government has also proposed to construct a metro link from Palam Vihar to Dwarka Sector 21, facilitating connectivity between the proposed Gurugram Metro and the Blue Line of the Delhi Metro.

‘Will revolutionise public transport’

“Gurugram has waited for many years for this and now finally we will have metro network worthy of the city. It will not just enhance better connectivity to Delhi but also revolutionise the public transport thereby reducing the vehicular load on roads. It will make affordable public transport a reality in city in addition to employment generation” 

—Rao Inderjeet Singh, Union Minister and Gurugram MP

#gurugram #narendra modi

Tribune Shorts


View All