14 NDA parties deplore Opposition move to boycott Parliament unveiling : The Tribune India

14 NDA parties deplore Opposition move to boycott Parliament unveiling

NDA recalls their opposition to Droupadi Murmu’s presidential bid, says their ‘disrespect’ shown towards her is new low in political discourse

14 NDA parties deplore Opposition move to boycott Parliament unveiling

An illuminated new Parliament building ahead of its inauguration on May 28 by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, in New Delhi on Wednesday. Tribune photo: Mukesh Aggarwal

Tribune News Service

New Delhi, May 24

Hours after 19 opposition parties led by the Congress issued a joint statement announcing boycott of the May 28 inauguration of the new Parliament by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, 14 ruling National Democratic Alliance partners in a counter move deplored the development asking the opposition for a rethink.

“We unequivocally condemn the contemptuous decision of 19 political parties to boycott the inauguration of the new Parliament building scheduled for Sunday, 28th May. This act is not merely disrespectful; it is a blatant affront to the democratic ethos and constitutional values of our great nation,” the statement signed by senior NDA leaders including BJP chief JP Nadda, Maharashtra CM Eknath Shinde of Shiv Sena and Haryana deputy CM Dushyant Chautala of JJP said.

Terming opposition’s decision a flagrant disrespect towards the Parliament, NDA allies said in Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav, India does not need divisiveness.

“We implore the Opposition parties to reconsider their decision, for if they do not, the 140 crore people of India will not forget this egregious insult to our democracy and to their elected representatives. Their actions today will echo through the annals of history, casting a long shadow over their legacy. We urge them to think about the nation and not individual political gains,” the ruling alliance said.

The signatories lamented past instances of disdain shown to the Parliament.

“Over the past nine years, these opposition parties have repeatedly shown scant regard for parliamentary procedures, disrupted sessions, staged walkouts during crucial legislations, and demonstrated an alarming lackadaisical attitude towards their Parliamentary duties. This recent boycott is just another feather in their cap of disregard for democratic processes,” the statement said.

It recalled that the opposition boycotted the special GST session presided over by the then President of India, Shri Pranab Mukherjee; skipped the ceremony when he was awarded the Bharat Ratna, and even extended a late courtesy call to Shri Ramnath Kovind Ji upon his election as President.

“Disrespect shown towards our current President Droupadi Murmu is a new low in political discourse. The staunch opposition to her candidature is not just an insult to her but a direct affront to the Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes of our nation,” they said adding that opposition disdain for parliamentary democracy is rooted in history.

“The same parties imposed the Emergency, a horrifying period in India’s history, suspending civil liberties and democratic processes. Their habitual misuse of Article 356 further exposes their blatant disregard for constitutional principles. It is painfully apparent that the Opposition shuns Parliament because it represents the will of the people - a will that has repeatedly rejected their antiquated and self-serving politics. Their preference for semi-monarchic governments and family-run parties shows an aversion to vibrant democracy, an ideology incongruent with the ethos of our nation,” NDA allies said.

They said opposition unity is marked not by a shared vision for national development, but by a shared practice of vote bank politics and a propensity for corruption.

The statement was also signed by Conrad Sangma - CM, Meghalaya (National People’s Party); Neiphiu Rio - CM, Nagaland (Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party) , Prem Singh Tamang - CM, Sikkim (Sikkim Krantikari Morcha), Dushyant Chautala - Deputy CM, Haryana (Jananayak Janata Party); Pashupati Kumar Paras - Union Minister (Rashtriya Lok Janshakti Party); Anupriya Patel – Union Minister of State (Apna Dal – Soneylal); Ramdas Athawale - Union Minister of State (Republican Party of India, Maharashtra); GK Vasan - Member of Parliament (Tamil Maanila Congress); E. Palaniswami - Leader of Opposition, Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly (AIADMK); Devanathan - (IMKMK), Tamil Nadu, Sudesh Mahto - President, All Jharkhand Students Union and Zoramthanga, CM, Mizoram (Mizo National Front).

#BJP #Droupadi Murmu

Tribune Shorts

Top News

Wrestlers’ protest: FIR against organisers, others on charges of rioting, obstructing public servant

Wrestlers' protest: FIR against organisers, others on charges of rioting, obstructing public servant

700 people detained across Delhi, including 109 protesters a...

Rain delays toss in IPL final between Gujarat Titans and Chennai Super Kings

IPL final between Chennai Super Kings and Gujarat Titans moved to Monday due to persistent rain

No such predictions of rain in Ahmedabad on Monday, which me...

Fresh clashes break out in Manipur; 2 killed, 12 injured in firing

Fresh clashes break out in Manipur; 2 killed, 12 injured in firing

Clashes began after army commenced combing operations to de-...

Watch LIVE: New Parliament opening with mega 'Sengol' ceremony

PM Modi inaugurates New Parliament amid Opposition boycott

Twenty one Opposition parties skipped the event protesting t...

‘Coronation over, arrogant king is crushing voice of people’: Rahul on police detaining wrestlers

'Coronation over, arrogant king is crushing voice of people': Rahul on police detaining wrestlers

Congress seeks Supreme Court-monitored probe into allegation...


View All