Karnataka election results: Congress wins big; BJP concedes defeat : The Tribune India

Join Whatsapp Channel

Karnataka election results: Congress wins big; BJP concedes defeat

Cong: 139, BJP: 62: JDS: 20, Others: 3

Karnataka election results: Congress wins big; BJP concedes defeat

Congress leaders and workers celebrate at the party office as the party leads in early trends on the counting day of Karnataka Assembly polls, in Bengaluru, Saturday, May 13, 2023. PTI

Tribune Web Desk

Chandigarh, May 13

A resurgent Congress appeared headed for a comfortable majority in Karnataka on Saturday and on course to wresting power from the BJP in its lone southern citadel which seems to have been hit by anti-incumbency.

According to the latest Election Commission statistics, the M Mallikarjun Kharge-led party won 10 seats and was leading in 136 more segments, well above the 113-mark needed for a simple majority in the 224-member House.

Elections were held on May 10 and counting of polled votes took place on Saturday.

The BJP, which won 104 seats in the previous Assembly election, was ahead on over 60 seats after winning four, and the JD(S), which was expected to play a key role in the event of a hung verdict, came out victorious on one seat and was leading in 19 others. Others were leading in four segments.

The BJP could not make a mark in spite of the efforts by the party's top brass, outgoing Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai acknowledged.

13:25 13 May
End of BJP's negative and communal politics has begun: SP chief

Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav on Saturday said the assembly election trends from Karnataka that project a Congress victory send the message that the "end" of the BJP's negative, communal and corrupt politics has begun.

The Congress was striding forward with leads in 117 seats while the BJP was ahead in 75 in Karnataka, according to Election Commission of India trends, as votes were counted on Saturday for an election widely seen as a litmus test for both parties ahead of the 2024 parliamentary polls.

Yadav said in a tweet in Hindi, "The message from Karnataka is that the 'antkaal (end)' of the BJP's negative, communal, corrupt, pro-rich, anti-women, anti-youth, socially divisive, propaganda, individual-centric politics has begun." "This is a strict mandate of a new posit

13:14 13 May
Kharge reacts to win

11:51 13 May
Cong will form govt on our own strength: Siddaramaiah

Senior Congress leader Siddaramaiah on Saturday said the party will come to power on its own by winning over 120 seats in the 224-member Karnataka Legislative Assembly and claimed the visits of BJP brass led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi had no impact on the voters of the state.  Siddaramaih said the visits of Modi, Home Minister Amit Shah and BJP national president J P Nadda have had no impact on the voters of Karnataka.

11:10 13 May
Congress leads in 120 seats

10:08 13 May
Karnataka Congress workers hail party leadership

09:51 13 May
Shivakumar leads in Kanakapura seat

Karnataka Congress Chief D K Shivakumar leading in Kanakapura by about 6,000 votes against BJP leader and Minister R Ashoka.

09:50 13 May
Ex-CM Jagadish Shettar trails

Ex-CM Jagadish Shettar trails in Hubballi-Dharwad central Former Chief Minister Jagadish Shettar who quit BJP and joined the Congress is trailing by around 2,500 votes in Hubballi-Dharwad Central.

09:29 13 May
Snake which had entered BJP camp office

09:18 13 May
Congress ahead of BJP

Opposition Congress in Karnataka forged ahead of its rival, the ruling BJP, according to the initial trends of counting of votes polled.

The Mallikarjun Kharge-led party was leading in 82 seats and the BJP in 66.

The JD(S), led by former Prime Minister H D Deve Gowda, gained an early lead in 21 segments.

08:58 13 May
BJP spokesperson Syed Zafar Islam on initial trends

08:41 13 May
Celebrations at Cong office in Delhi

08:36 13 May
BJP slightly ahead of Congress

The ruling BJP was slightly ahead of the Congress in early trends as the counting of votes was taken up for the Karnataka Assembly elections on Saturday.

08:26 13 May
Prohibitory orders

The authorities have clamped prohibitory orders in the capital city Bengaluru and communally sensitive Dakshina Kannada district to avoid untoward incidents and maintain law and order situation. The election results are crucial for the two national parties - BJP and Congress - as well as for the state party JD(S).

08:22 13 May
BJP will win with absolute majority: Bommai

08:18 13 May
Visuals of a counting centre

08:17 13 May
Bommai visits Hanuman temple

About The Author

The Tribune Web Desk brings you the latest news, analysis and insights from the region, India and around the world. Follow the Tribune Wed Desk for not just breaking news stories but wide-ranging coverage of events.

#BJP #Congress #karnataka

Top News

Amit Shah directs security agencies to implement area domination, zero-terror plans in Jammu division on lines of Kashmir

Terror in J-K has shrunk from highly organised acts to mere proxy war: Amit Shah

A high-level meeting is convened to review the security situ...

Fresh political slugfest over EVM tampering claims; defamation notice issued to newspaper by poll body

Fresh political slugfest over EVM tampering claims; defamation notice issued to newspaper by poll body

Vandana Suryavanshi, returning officer of the constituency, ...

India refrains from associating itself with any communique emerging from Swiss summit on peace in Ukraine

India refrains from associating itself with any communique emerging from Swiss summit on peace in Ukraine

Pavan Kapoor, Secretary (West) in the Ministry of External A...

BJP leaders vandalised Delhi Jal Board office, alleges AAP minister Saurabh Bharadwaj

Atishi accuses BJP workers of vandalising Delhi Jal Board office, alleges conspiracy

Says at a press conference that the BJP is leaving no stone ...


View All