Eknath Shinde faction serves notices on 14 Uddhav Thackeray camp MLAs : The Tribune India

Eknath Shinde faction serves notices on 14 Uddhav Thackeray camp MLAs

Aaditya Thackeray spared ‘out of respect’

Eknath Shinde faction serves notices on 14 Uddhav Thackeray camp MLAs

CM Eknath Shinde being welcomed by supporters in Thane. PTI

Tribune News Service

New Delhi, July 5

After winning the trust vote in the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly, the Eknath Shinde camp of Shiv Sena on Monday night issued a notice to 14 legislators from the Uddhav Thackeray faction for violating a whip issued by Shiv Sena chief whip and the Chief Minister’s loyalist Bharat Gogawale.

According to reports from Mumbai, the notice, however, excluded the name of Aaditya Thackeray, son of party chief Uddhav Thackeray, “out of respect”.

The whip issued by Gogawale had asked all MLAs of the Shiv Sena to vote for Shinde in the trust vote.

Gogawale was recognised as the chief whip of the Shiv Sena by Maharashtra Speaker Rahul Narvekar on Sunday, a day before the floor test.

“It is true that we have issued a notice for the violation of the whip to Shiv Sena MLAs who did not vote for CM Shinde. However, we have omitted the name of Aaditya from it out of respect,” Gogawale is reported to have told a news agency.

He said all Shiv Sena MLAs, including those in the Uddhav Thackeray camp, had worked together for a long time with Uddhav and Aaditya. “We respect them. But they should have addressed our concerns,” he said. The Shiv Sena had 55 MLAs before the rebellion in the 288-member Assembly, whose current strength is 287 due to the death of a Sena legislator. In the trust vote, 164 MLAs voted for the motion of confidence while 99 voted against it.

#Eknath Shinde #Maharashtra #shiv sena #uddhav thackeray

Tribune Shorts

Top News

BJP poised for a landslide victory in Gujarat, Congress ahead in Himachal

BJP heading for record win in Gujarat, concedes defeat in Himachal Pradesh

The saffron party with a vote share of nearly 54 per cent is...

Congress calls all Himachal Pradesh MLAs to Chandigarh for strategy meet

Himachal polls results: Congress changes strategy, asks MLAs to stay put in Shimla

Had earlier called all state MLAs to Chandigarh for strategy...

Gujarat Assembly elections results 2022 LIVE updates: BJP upbeat ahead of counting of votes

Gujarat Assembly election results 2022 LIVE updates: BJP heads for historic win

Leading: BJP 158; Congress 16; AAP 5; Others 3

Gujarat polls: BJP says its development agenda won and Congress’s negative politics lost

BJP says its development agenda won in Gujarat and Congress's negative politics lost

BJP workers dance in joy as the saffron camp goes into a fes...


View All