22 MLAs test positive for COVID-19 ahead of Punjab Assembly session

Vidhan Sabha is scheduled to reconvene for a one-day session on Friday

22 MLAs test positive for COVID-19 ahead of Punjab Assembly session

The Punjab Assembly building. File photo

Ruchika M. Khanna

Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, August 26

Ahead of the one-day Punjab Vidhan Sabha session scheduled for Friday, as many as 22 members of the House have been found to be COVID positive.

While three Cabinet ministers had tested positive earlier (other than Minister Tript Rajinder Singh Bajwa, who after recovering tested negative today), the remaining lawmakers tested positive this week. Some of them had undertaken the test yesterday and today as it is mandatory to have a Covid negative report before attending the session, scheduled for August 28.

Sources in the Punjab Vidhan Sabha have told The Tribune that three Aam Aadmi Party MLAs, six from Akali Dal and remaining from the Congress have tested positive. Even though the others have tested negative, they will be seated while maintaining social distancing norms, officials of the Vidhan Sabha said.

Interestingly, the legislative party meetings of both Aam Aadmi Party and Shiromani Akali Dal were held yesterday, where MLAs who have been found positive for COVID-19 were present. As per the protocol of the Health department, the contacts of a COVID positive MLA will have to self-quarantine for five days. As a result, only two MLAs from AAP, who could not attend the meeting yesterday, will be allowed to attend the session on Friday, while none from the Akali Dal can attend the session.

The session has been called as it is a constitutional requirement to call a session within six months of the previous session. Important ordinances passed by the state government, including amendments in GST, Punjab Clinical Establishment Ordinance and Punjab Good Conduct Prisoners Rules. A motion rejecting the three farm ordinances moved by the Centre is also expected to be passed in the House.

MLAs who tested postive for Covid


1. Gurpreet Kangar

2. Sukhjinder Randhawa

3. Sham Sunder Arora

4. Hardial Kamboj

5. Madan Lal Jalalpur

6. Ajaib Singh Bhatti

7. Dr Dharamvir Aghnihotri

8. Amit Vij

9. Harjot Kamal

10. Amrik Singh Dhillon

11. Balwinder Singh Dhaliwal

12. Pargat Singh

13. Sanjeev Talwar

14. Nazar Singh Manshahia

Shiromani Akali Dal

1. Manpreet Singh Ayali

2. NK Sharma

3. Rozy Barkandi

4. Gurpartap Singh Wadala

5. Lakhbir Singh Lodhinangal

6. Harinderpal Singh Chandumajra

Aam Aadmi Party

1. Manjit Singh Bilaspur

2. Kulwant Singh Pandori

Tribune Shorts


View All