Barnala district to have more polling stations for 2022

64 new stations added to existing 494

Barnala district to have more polling stations for 2022

Photo for representational purpose only.

Barnala, October 12

On the directions of the Election Commission of India, polling stations in Barnala district have been rationalised for the forthcoming 2022 elections following the policy of limiting 1,200 voters per station in the wake of the Covid-19 pandemic.

Following this, the polling stations of Assembly constituencies 102 Bhadaur (SC), 103 Barnala and 104 Mehal Kalan (SC) were verified and rationalised. After getting due permission from the EC, 64 new polling stations have been added to existing 494 and the number has increased to 558.

As per constituency-wise details in 102 Bhadaur (SC) constituency, there were 162 polling stations and seven have been added. Similarly, in 103 Barnala constituency, there were 167 polling stations and 45 new have been added. In 104 Mehal Kalan constituency, there were 165 polling stations and 12 have been added.

Some officials said besides this, as per the EC guidelines, special electoral revision is being done. The revision shall be done from November 1, 2021 to November 30, 2021. Claims and objections are invited from all three Assembly constituencies regarding voter revision. — TNS

Tribune Shorts


View All