Friday, October 18, 2019

Posted at: May 23, 2019, 7:44 AM; last updated: May 23, 2019, 7:44 AM (IST)

Show proof of MLAs’ support, Speaker tells LoP aspirant Kiran

Speaker writes to Congress leader

  • Assembly Speaker Kanwar Pal Gujjar said he had written to Kiran Choudhry on Tuesday, asking her to provide a resolution signed by the Congress MLAs that they supported her as their leader

Sushil Manav

Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, May 22

Nearly two months after Congress Legislature Party (CLP) leader Kiran Choudhry staked claim on the post of Leader of Opposition (LoP) in the state Assembly, Speaker Kanwar Pal Gujjar has asked her to provide proof of her party’s MLAs’ support.

Speaking to The Tribune today, the Speaker confirmed that he had written to Kiran on Tuesday, asking her to provide a resolution signed by the Congress MLAs that they supported her as their leader.

The post of the LoP had fallen vacant following the removal of Abhay Singh Chautala from this post in March after switching over of four INLD MLAs to the newly constituted Jannayak Janta Party led by Dushyant Chautala.

“Kiran had sent me a letter, staking claim to the post of the LoP. Since I was busy in the Lok Sabha elections, I could not take any action. As per the procedure, a person staking claim to the post of the LoP has to be elected leader of his or her party at a meeting of legislatures and a resolution to that effect has to be submitted to the Vidhan Sabha secretariat,” said Gujjar.

Kiran could not be contacted for her comments. Sources said the Speaker’s letter is set to start a new controversy in the already divided state Congress.

The Congress has 17 MLAs in the Vidhan Sabha, of which 13 owe allegiance to former Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda; the others being Kuldeep Bishnoi and his wife Renuka Bishnoi, AICC spokesperson Randeep Surjewala and Kiran herself.

In such a scenario, it will be interesting to see whether the Hooda camp is ready to support Kiran’s candidature or press for someone from its camp for the post. Much will also depend on tomorrow’s results.

Meanwhile, the Speaker has given one more month to INLD MLAs Naina Chautala, Pirthi Singh, Anoop Dhanak and Rajdeep Phogat for filing their replies to Abhay’s complaint for their dismissal as MLAs.


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On