Monday, October 21, 2019

Posted at: Apr 23, 2019, 8:08 PM; last updated: Apr 24, 2019, 7:08 AM (IST)

BJP fields Sunny Deol from Gurdaspur, Kirron Kher from Chandigarh

BJP fields Sunny Deol from Gurdaspur, Kirron Kher from Chandigarh
Kirron Kher. File photo

Tribune News Service
New Delhi, 
April 22 

Actor-politician Sunny Deol is the Bharatiya Janata Party’s candidate from Gurdaspur, the party list released on Tuesday said.

The party’s fielding Kirron Kher from Chandigarh, a seat she currently represents. BJP leader Som Prakash has been given ticket from the Hoshiarpur (SC) Lok Sabha constituency instead of its sitting MP, Union Minister Vijay Sampla.

Sunny Deol is the second member of the family after his step mother Hema Malini, the BJP candidate renominated from Mathura, to be given ticket by the party in this election. His father Dharmendra was BJP MP from Bikaner in 2004.

Deol will take on Punjab Congress chief Sunil Jakhar from Gurdaspur, which was in the past represented by the late actor Vinod Khanna from the BJP.

Kher, meanwhile, will fight veteran Congress leader Pawan Bansal to retain Chandigarh. Som Prakash will go up against Congress party's Rajkumar Chabbewal. 

Both Punjab and Chandigarh will vote in the last phase of elections on May 19. Votes will be counted on May 23.


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On