Wednesday, January 23, 2019

Posted at: Sep 2, 2017, 12:36 AM; last updated: Sep 2, 2017, 12:36 AM (IST)

Left retains DUTA prez post four times in row

Tribune News Service

New Delhi, September 1

Four years in row, the Left-backed Democratic Teachers’ Front (DTF) retained its hold over the Delhi University Teachers’ Association (DUTA) with its candidate Prof Rajib Ray winning the president’s post defeating BJP-leaning National Democratic Teachers Front nominee (NDTF).

Prof Rajib bagged 2,636 votes as compared to NDTF's Prof V S Negi who polled 2,375 votes during the elections to the post of DUTA president held yesterday.

The polls of 15 members of the DUTA executive committee 2017-2019 were also held simultaneously followed by counting of votes.

University Teachers Forum (UTF) presidential nominee Surender Singh Rana finished third with 1,930 votes. The 15 members for executive panel included four candidates from the Academics for Action and Development, three candidates of DTF and two candidates from Congress’ INTEC.


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On