Wednesday, August 21, 2019

Posted at: Aug 14, 2019, 8:00 AM; last updated: Aug 14, 2019, 8:00 AM (IST)

Ajay beats Sanyam, Ojaswi edges past Faizan on Day 1

Ajay beats Sanyam, Ojaswi edges past Faizan on Day 1
A player in action on the opening day of Smt Krishna Khaitan Memorial All-India Junior Ranking Tournament at Tau Devi Lal Stadium in Panchkula on Tuesday. Ravi Kumar

Tribune News Service
Panchkula, August 13 

Ajay Dhankar came from behind to beat Sanyam Grover in the boys’ U-19 singles qualification round on the opening day of Smt Krishna Khaitan Memorial All-India Junior Ranking Badminton Tournament at Tau Devi Lal Stadium here today. Dhankar packed off his opponent 7-15 15-11 15-11 in just 37 minutes.

Ojaswi Sharma registered a 16-14 15-9 win over Faizan Ahmed, while Jashank Kashyap drubbed Ayush Narang 15-13 15-4. Brijesh Verma was no match to a rampant Randeep Singh as he bowed out 4-15 7-15 in just 14 minutes. 

Anirudh Sunil overcame Sahaj Tyagi 16-14 12-15 15-4 to win his qualification round match on Tuesday. Saksham registered a 15-9 15-8 win over Om Pranav R and Rahoul Kanne dispatched Shreeman Sanjal Babu 15-6 15-5. Virendra Patel had an easy outing against Lakshanka Vaishnav. Patel won 15-8 15-8. 

Shagunpreet advances

In the girls’ U-19 singles, Shagunpreet Kaur dismissed Mahima Tomar 15-6 15-12 in the qualifiers, while Sheethal D nudged past Vidushi Singh 15-7 12-15 15-13. 

Sneha Singh packed off Megha Nasir 15-4 15-6 in just 18 minutes. Divya dumped Vidisha Chawla 15-6 15-2, while Sai Shriya Yanamandra downed Pramila Sharma 15-7 15-10.   

Deeya Mishra humbled Sruthika Senthil 15-9 15-11 and Yazvi Balooni defeated Vineeta Panchal 15-5 15-12. Urvi Thakurdesai overcame Rudrani Jaiswal 15-10 12-15 15-7 in the qualification round. 

Mahi Naresh dismissed Manvi Draboo 15-1 15-2 in less than 10 minutes. Sant Kaur was, however, made to sweat by Niki Rapria before she succeeded 15-12 13-15 15-12.

Akshita Anil Radha prevailed 15-13 15-13 against Radhika Sharma in the qualifiers, while Sakshi Asrani trounced Hazel Sehrawat 15-6 15-10. Nikita edged past Tia Mahajan 15-2 15-5 and Soumya Raghavan drubbed Divyanshi 15-6 15-5.


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On